Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I REALLY enjoyed this recipe. I did make a few changes though. The turkey I bought was a little over a pound. I used 2 Tbs of olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also included minced garlic (I STILL used the garlic powder though. I love garlic). I doubled the cumin and doubled the chili powder. Instead of the Pace Salsa, I used a can of crushed tomatoes and a can of diced tomatoes. And I didn't use the sugar. It came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was good - I added stewed tomatoes, fresh garlic & celery - and served it over white rice, and topped with Cheese & Sour Cream!! I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wittcheypooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. My small picky children loved it. I didn't have the broth so I used water and two chicken cubes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I followed it as written and had wonderful results. The only thing I had to change was I used red kidney beans, instead of black. I only had the red beans, and the taste was still perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Was very tasty, though I felt it was a little runnier than I would have liked. I thickened it with a bit of cornstarch and all was good. Was very easy and quick to make. I made with corn muffins, and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was really good! I made a few minor changes to accomodate our tastes: omitted onion, used fresh garlic instead of powder, upped the amount of cumin, and doubled the amount of chicken broth. Instead of salsa, I used 1 can of diced tomatoes w/ green chilis and 1 can of chili-ready tomatoes. Very good served with a little shredded cheese and dollop of sour cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I make this at least once a week. It's delicious AS-IS. My family loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EllyWest
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was very good, but with some improvements. Deciding to veto the salsa I added in half of a large onion, two cans of diced tomatoes (which didn't quite do it for me so I also included a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste), and added extra chili powder, about three tablespoons total. I also did not add any sugar and cooked it all together in a crock-pot. With the extra chili powder it was very spicy so salt was definitely necessary. A very tasty chili, great for cold nights! The corn and black beans added a great texture and lighter taste to balance the sharper spices in the chili. Would definitely recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllyWest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Once again, my slow cooker came in handy for another soup recipe. I put the browned meat in with all the spices, beans and corn and cooked on low for about 8 hours. This was delicious. Terrific healthy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
this was so good. everyone that tried it asked me for the recipe. it tastes like it was cooked all day! I just added sour cream after serving, cheddar cheese and sprinkled cilantro on top. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States