Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by EllyWest
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was very good, but with some improvements. Deciding to veto the salsa I added in half of a large onion, two cans of diced tomatoes (which didn't quite do it for me so I also included a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste), and added extra chili powder, about three tablespoons total. I also did not add any sugar and cooked it all together in a crock-pot. With the extra chili powder it was very spicy so salt was definitely necessary. A very tasty chili, great for cold nights! The corn and black beans added a great texture and lighter taste to balance the sharper spices in the chili. Would definitely recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllyWest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This chili has tons of flavor, nice texture, very colorful. We couldn't even tell we were eating ground turkey. It went together very quickly and was ready in no time. The worst thing about it was having to wait until it was cool enough to eat :D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Once again, my slow cooker came in handy for another soup recipe. I put the browned meat in with all the spices, beans and corn and cooked on low for about 8 hours. This was delicious. Terrific healthy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made it exactly as the recipe states except for a few items: used one can of diced tomatoes plus one cup of medium salsa instead of the Pace Salsa, omitted the oil as it wasn't needed and eliminated the sugar. It was delicious - just enough of a kick to make it yummy but my 5-year old still loved it. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is really good! I had to turn it into chicken chili as the grocery store I went to had every ground meat except turkey. Other than that, kept everything the same, except used onion powder instead of onion. I think I also used a bit more of each seasoning; didn't measure. Could use a bit more kick for those who like spicy, but I like it like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktAZ
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was a easy recipe when you are running short on time. Great on a cold night too! I suggest adding 2 Tbsp. of chives, it adds a color green to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delish. Super Easy, would have thought it took hours if I had eaten it at someones house. Added alittle bit of asian chili garlic sauce for some extra spice and salt. delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had a little more than a pound of turkey and added two tablespoons of corn starch to thicken it as well as topped it with cheese and sour cream. I also served it with tortilla chips. It was AWESOME! The flavors melded together wonderfully!! I will most definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saranwrap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
LOVED this recipe! I didn't have any chili powder or cumin so I added some crushed red pepper and it gave the perfect kick for me. This has great flavor and was very easy to make, I served this with cornbread muffins and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very good chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States