Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Watery. Had to add a can of tomato paste to thicken it up. Added home made salsa instead of store bought. Definitely a good start but needed more spice. I subbed chicken for the turkey and upped the cumin and chili powder. As I said it's a good starting point but not a great recipe as a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made this recipe almost as written. I didn't have any salsa, so I substituted a can of Rotel tomatoes, and used frozen corn instead of canned. It was more like a soup than chili, but smelled and tasted very good. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The basic recipe was good, but as always, I changed it up a bit. Instead of the Pace, I found some black bean- corn salsa that I used. I also added some undiluted tomato soup for the consistency. I put it the crock pot, but it looked so good that I had to try it right away. Yum!! I will serve it with rice, tortillas, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This chili was very good, and my whole family liked it a lot. It was easy and quick to make, which makes dinner time during the week much easier. I liked the tad bit of spiciness the salsa gave the chili, but it wasn't too spicy for my young boys (5 and 2) to eat. The leftovers the next day for lunch were even better than the day that I made it. I liked that the recipe called for turkey instead of the traditional ground beef, which made this even healthier for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was reallllly delicious. Loved the spicy as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It was delicious. My niece who is a picky liked it with white rice. I didn't have Pace so I used Tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
this is still reigning on the top three of my boyfriend's favourite dishes! I normally make a batch and he eats it when I'm having late nights and not cooking dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PALMINATOR
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! I added fresh chopped garlic, 1- 6oz can of tomato paste and only 1 can of chicken broth. I served it with sour cream, habanero cheddar cheese and tortilla chips! THANK YOU for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMINATOR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
we liked this. i followed the recipe except omitted the sugar. it did come out somewhat watery, so i would agree with the other reviews that adding corn starch would help (mine was past its date so we just ate it as is). if you're not serving this with something salty, you may want to add a little salt. we had it with tortilla chips and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was very good. I would have given five stars but I changed it per reviews. I did not add the sugar and also added tomato paste because without it was too soupy for our liking. Served it over white rice and added shredded cheddar cheese, dollop of sour cream and chopped green onions to top. Next time I will use half the amount of chicken broth. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States