Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Made this last night. Added 1 sml. can green chilies, 1 jalapeno, chopped, 4-5 garlic cloves, chopped, 1/2 bell pepper, chopped. Substituted frozen corn for canned. Because I didn't make it before adding all the extra ingreds. I can't say how it would have been, but we thought it was really, really good my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Followed recipe exactly except used fresh salsa rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was good but I added one can of tomato paste becauses it was very, very thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feeajo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I wouldn't change anything, my husband loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfane, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is very easy and very good! I omitted the corn, since my husband hates it. The recipe would be great as is, but we like it hot, so I added some extra cumin and chili seasoning to spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Good flavor. I needed to use tomato paste to thicken the base, even after training the beans and the corn. My family thought that there was too much corn, may use 1/2 can next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryanne56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Yummy! I've prepared this recipe 4-5 times now and it never fails: it takes no time to prep (almost no chopping) and it comes out tasting great every time, plus, it's super healthy. Of course this is nothing like the traditional chili, it's more like a veggie turkey stew, but it's oh so good (it always tastes better then I think it will). I think I'll go make some tonight! If you want something that's healthy and hearty, you should try it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Made as directed; was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
The chili came out really good. I used olive oil (which I always do). I was a little nervous about the salsa so I used stewed tomatoes instead and I didn't have any cumin. It looked pretty watery so I put in about 1/2 C of salsa. Based on a comment I added some cornstarch to thicken the chili but it didn't work much. Definately recommend adding a can of tomato paste which worked perfectly. Also after reading about cumin being a key ingredient in southwestern chili and got some and added liberally. I let it sit on low heat for 2 more hours (after the recommended 30 min) to let the flavor soak in. Served with cornbread and delicious! Next time I will add cayanne pepper and probably half the sugar as it was a little on the sweet side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I have a vegetarian in the family and was looking for a hearty veggie dish..this was awesome! I used soy-rizo in place of turkey and nobody could tell! I would recommend for anyone cooking soy-rizo, fry it up separately & add it at the very end of the stew's simmer, so it doesn't expand and lose the "ground meat" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States