Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
We made this tonight for a quick vegetarian dinner and it was delicious. Substituted daikon for jimica since we happened to have one in the fridge and skipped the jalapeno but otherwise we stayed true to the recipe and really enjoyed it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used key limes and it was too bitter so I added a spoonful of sugar. Tasted great. This is a great fix and leave in the fridge to munch on all week recipe. Oh and if your like me and you don't like it to be too spicy de-seed your jalapeno before mincing. That's where most of the spice is. I did this and it came out just right. Oh and a Jimica is a round root thingy that has the taste/texture of a cross between an apple and a potato. Get a small one or it'll take over the salad. Mine was waay to big and it suffered for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made the salad part as written, pretty much the same with the dressing, but I added alittle more stuff to it. I added about a 1/4 of a cup of balsamic vinager, about a TBSP. of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp. of cumin. I'll make this again. I diffently think this is a great topping for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is a good combination of flavors with a nice, zippy dressing. I used half the lime juice and oil, and subbed roasted Hatch green chiles for the jalapeno. The feta is a great touch, and I like that the beans aren't the main feature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Because I omitted the jicama, I think I should have used less olive oil. I only used about 3 oz. of feta and that seemed to be plenty for me. This was good - very light yet filling for a great summer lunch. We'll be having this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was a hit at a barbeque. I used a lot less oil (about 1/2 cup). Next time I might add another jalapeno pepper. But It was good as is and very colourful. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was good although I wasn't amazed by it or anything. I wish it was a tad spicier so I'll prob add an extra jalapeño if I make it again. This is just the type of dish that would be great to take to a pot luck or a cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Wow, this is awesome! It's very colorful, too, which makes it as delicious to look at as it is to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Love this salad!! Made it frequently all last summer and plan to do same again this year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a huge hit at our cookout last weekend!! Some thought it to be too spicy but I thought it was just right! Thanks for the recipe, it's being passed on to many friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States