Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
YUM! I did cut WAY back on the oil...probably to 1/4 cup or so. Added a little honey to sweeten up the dressing a bit. I used fat free feta. I left the jalapeno to be added on the side for individual tastes, and added cilantro as an option (that MADE the salad, as far as I'm concerned!) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I tried this recipe but bought a Yucca not knowing the difference from a jicama but put it in mini food processor and minced it. Was it good, the raves were amazing. Some of my friends said they would use instead of salsa for a dip. Others have issues with green pepper so the next time I will use only red, yellow or orange and it should be just as good. Thanks for the recipe, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Loved this! One suggestion I would make is to seed and drain the tomatoes.... can make this soupy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Just tooo much oil!!! Something just wasn't right. I like the ingredients just not the dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
So good, mello and refreshing. Think I will use a little more lime and jalapeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I don't see how anyone can eat this with a full cup of olive oil. I used half, as others suggested and it was still too much dressing. I recommend using 1/2 cup olive oil, then add the dressing a little at a time, and check according to your taste. I did love the combination of flavors of the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I served this salad at a Memorial Day party and it was a hit, I had several people ask for the recipe. I made it exactly the way the recipe is written except I cut the oil in half. Will definitely make it again! Oh, and as for the Jicama, I had never heard of it but am now a fan, although you really do only need a small one for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Loved it! We used half the jicama, half the olive oil and added a diced avocado and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Big hit at the Memorial Day BBQ. Used only a half cup oil and added a little extra lime juice. I was hesitant about using the whole jalepeno, but it was just fine (omitted the seeds). I've loved jicama for a long time, but never thought of shredding it for salad until I had it that way at a fancy restaurant last week. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! This makes a great summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States