Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I've made this salad several times now and I think it's great! Not everyone in my family agrees, though. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The next time I was out of fresh corn so used home frozen. Out of fresh garlic so used garlic powder. First time I mixed the dressing in the food processor and it worked great, but the next time I hand whisked it and the oil never got completely incorporated. Second time was still good but not as good. This time after reading many reviews, I only added 3/4 cup oil, and since it was still great, next time I will try 1/2 cup. I didn't have jicama any of the times I've made it (store never seems to have it) but will try harder to find some since so many of you thought it added so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this for a BBQ we are hosting tomorrow night. I am loving it! The jicama adds a wonderful crunch. I omitted the jalapeno only because we have small children coming. I can only imagine that the flavors will develop as it chills overnight. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is absolutely amazing! The little market close to my house didn't have jicama, but I did have some regular old radishes, so I used those. Added a nice color, plus got 'em out of the fridge. Next time I can hunt down jicama, however, totally going for that! The only other change I made was using less oil and I used green and yellow bell peppers. Took it to a BBQ and got "I think this was my favorite dish out of all!" from one guest. Definitely looking forward to the leftovers all week. Yum. Just...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious. The jicama makes it. I doubled the recipe it for a BBQ and people loved it. I reduced the amount of olive oil in the recipe and added some fresh coriander but other than that, left the recipe as is. Just a great (and healthy recipe!). Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corks73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Really liked this recipe, but added 2 chopped avocados to mine. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this for a potluck, super easy and tasty! The jicama is necessary for the perfect blend of textures and crunch. I used the following variations: frozen corn, cherry tomatoes quartered, red and yellow bell peppers to equal 1 whole, about 4 oz feta cheese (more would be overpowering), and about 3/4 bunch green onions. I found these proportions to be perfect. Tips: pick a small jicama, about the size of a fist. If using frozen corn, let thaw separately and drain the water. Use fresh lime juice - the one in the plastic lime does not have the right flavors and you won't be able to taste lime in the dressing. The reason for the 1 star deduction: I don't see how anyone could use an entire cup of oil for this dressing without it being a soupy, oily mess. I'm so glad I used 1/4 cup oil, which was plenty. But if I hadn't read the other reviews, I would have wasted so much oil and the salad would have been inedible. Use 1/4 cup oil, trust me on this. I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly - about 1/2 tsp mustard, 1/2 tsp minced garlic or less. Lime juice, pepper and salt stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was a fabulous, fresh tasting salad! I did not add feta cheese since my husband is not fond of it, but, one could easily sprinkle it on. I did add red and orange peppers because I had them on hand and figured "why not"? Thank you for a great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was really awesome! Next time I will not add so much oil...it was really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made exactly as directed, except I used frozen corn, cherry tomatoes, and I only used about 4 ounces of Feta cheese. It came out very good. It had a nice kick from the jalapeno pepper. I had never used jicama before, and I really liked the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States