Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is absolutely amazing! The little market close to my house didn't have jicama, but I did have some regular old radishes, so I used those. Added a nice color, plus got 'em out of the fridge. Next time I can hunt down jicama, however, totally going for that! The only other change I made was using less oil and I used green and yellow bell peppers. Took it to a BBQ and got "I think this was my favorite dish out of all!" from one guest. Definitely looking forward to the leftovers all week. Yum. Just...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious. The jicama makes it. I doubled the recipe it for a BBQ and people loved it. I reduced the amount of olive oil in the recipe and added some fresh coriander but other than that, left the recipe as is. Just a great (and healthy recipe!). Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corks73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Really liked this recipe, but added 2 chopped avocados to mine. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this for a potluck, super easy and tasty! The jicama is necessary for the perfect blend of textures and crunch. I used the following variations: frozen corn, cherry tomatoes quartered, red and yellow bell peppers to equal 1 whole, about 4 oz feta cheese (more would be overpowering), and about 3/4 bunch green onions. I found these proportions to be perfect. Tips: pick a small jicama, about the size of a fist. If using frozen corn, let thaw separately and drain the water. Use fresh lime juice - the one in the plastic lime does not have the right flavors and you won't be able to taste lime in the dressing. The reason for the 1 star deduction: I don't see how anyone could use an entire cup of oil for this dressing without it being a soupy, oily mess. I'm so glad I used 1/4 cup oil, which was plenty. But if I hadn't read the other reviews, I would have wasted so much oil and the salad would have been inedible. Use 1/4 cup oil, trust me on this. I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly - about 1/2 tsp mustard, 1/2 tsp minced garlic or less. Lime juice, pepper and salt stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was a fabulous, fresh tasting salad! I did not add feta cheese since my husband is not fond of it, but, one could easily sprinkle it on. I did add red and orange peppers because I had them on hand and figured "why not"? Thank you for a great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was really awesome! Next time I will not add so much oil...it was really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made exactly as directed, except I used frozen corn, cherry tomatoes, and I only used about 4 ounces of Feta cheese. It came out very good. It had a nice kick from the jalapeno pepper. I had never used jicama before, and I really liked the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I really liked this and got a lot of compliments when I made it. But the first time I made it it was inedible, 1 cup of oil is way, way too much- I left out the jicama and maybe that was why? The next time I cut it back to 1/4 cup of oil and used 1/2 a red onion and shredded havarti instead of feta- everyone liked it that time. Oh, and I used 1 cup of frozen corn. But overall I really do like this recipe and like I said, lots of compliments at office and church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
First time using jicama in a recipe. My husband and I both like this recipe. I halved the dressing and also added some cilantro I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States