Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I really liked this and got a lot of compliments when I made it. But the first time I made it it was inedible, 1 cup of oil is way, way too much- I left out the jicama and maybe that was why? The next time I cut it back to 1/4 cup of oil and used 1/2 a red onion and shredded havarti instead of feta- everyone liked it that time. Oh, and I used 1 cup of frozen corn. But overall I really do like this recipe and like I said, lots of compliments at office and church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
First time using jicama in a recipe. My husband and I both like this recipe. I halved the dressing and also added some cilantro I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Oh my goodness! SO GOOD!! I didn't have all the ingredients so I just used the beans, tomatoes, canned sweet corn. I added cilantro. In the sauce I found that 1/4 cup of oil was PLENTY! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
YUM! I did cut WAY back on the oil...probably to 1/4 cup or so. Added a little honey to sweeten up the dressing a bit. I used fat free feta. I left the jalapeno to be added on the side for individual tastes, and added cilantro as an option (that MADE the salad, as far as I'm concerned!) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I tried this recipe but bought a Yucca not knowing the difference from a jicama but put it in mini food processor and minced it. Was it good, the raves were amazing. Some of my friends said they would use instead of salsa for a dip. Others have issues with green pepper so the next time I will use only red, yellow or orange and it should be just as good. Thanks for the recipe, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Loved this! One suggestion I would make is to seed and drain the tomatoes.... can make this soupy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Just tooo much oil!!! Something just wasn't right. I like the ingredients just not the dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
So good, mello and refreshing. Think I will use a little more lime and jalapeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I don't see how anyone can eat this with a full cup of olive oil. I used half, as others suggested and it was still too much dressing. I recommend using 1/2 cup olive oil, then add the dressing a little at a time, and check according to your taste. I did love the combination of flavors of the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I served this salad at a Memorial Day party and it was a hit, I had several people ask for the recipe. I made it exactly the way the recipe is written except I cut the oil in half. Will definitely make it again! Oh, and as for the Jicama, I had never heard of it but am now a fan, although you really do only need a small one for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States