Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I would rename this to Jicama Salad ~much easier to remember! The salad itself was terrific! Loved all the ingredients. I probably will put fewer beans in it next time and have chopped avocado on the side to mix in. It does last well in the refrigerator. We used it in fish tacos the first day and then snacked on it with tortilla chips the next day. Enjoy ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
More flavor than your mouth can handle but YOU MUST LET IT CURE IN THE FRIDGE FOR AT LEAST 12 HOURS OR THE TASTES WILL NOT BLEND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Great recipe! I recommend cutting the oil down to 1/4 -1/3 cup oil. I added alittle cilantro and grilled the fresh corn. Very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This is one awesome recipe. I like many others didn't know what a jicama was but luckily found a couple at the local grocery store next to the ginger root. Flavor wise I don't know how much it really adds to this dish, but it is essentially a bland apple with water chestnut crunch. Texture wise, it is terrific with all the other ingredients. I was at a small barbecue with about 6 of us and everyone was wanting to know what it was, I of course said "I'm not real sure, but the recipe sounded pretty interesting" Needless to say, I was hoping for leftovers and the only way I'm getting those is to make myself another batch!! Not a bad problem to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent Flake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Tried this recipe for the first time for the holiday yesterday. Very disappointed. No compliments most was left untouched. I had to force myself to eat what was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe is awesome and healthy. I was a little hesitant to try the jicama, but so glad that I did. I found it next to the fresh ginger in the produce department. It really adds a unique texture and light flavor to this recipe. I only used a quarter cup of olive oil (same amount as lime juice) and this was a perfect balance. Other than that I followed the recipe just as written. This could easily be used as a vegetarian main dish or as a side salad. One last note, be sure to let it marinate overnight in the fridge, as it brings out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I liked this recipe a lot although I agree with those who remarked that 1 cup oil would be too much. I made it as written with the exception that I reduced the oil to between 1/2 and 3/4 cup. I like the kick that the jalapeno adds so much that I might do as another mentioned next time and make it two jalapenos. My hint would be to be sure and remove the pepper seeds and dice the peppers pretty finely. That way you get the good Tex/Mex kick but not an overly hot raw jalapeno bite. I also agree that it is a perfect fix early and refrigerate for later recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This recipe was yummy. We halved the salad ingredients and used the dressing as is EXCEPT just 2 Tbsp olive oil. Was fabulous! My hubby and I ate it ALL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
So good. Next time I will stir it up better prior to adding the beans and will only sprinkle the cheese at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was good and easy. I love things I can make a day or several days ahead. Book club ladies liked it. Like most I used half the oil and half the feta. Also added a large avocado that I sprinkled with lime juice. Next time I would add all of the feta, more garlic and another jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States