Black Bean Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These were ok. To me there was something missing. I might try them again, but with a few additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I've made these several times, but only last night did I follow the recipe closely enough to rate it. These are wonderful! I used a little more cilantro, some cumin, and a lot of red pepper flakes. Turned out great - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Quick, easy, healthy and good. Love black bean burritos, and these are about as simple as they get. I've used leftover mashed potatoes as well as brown rice in place of the potato rounds with good results (these are also good sans spuds, and healthier to boot). I almost always add in a can of corn as well as some cumin and green chiles for some added kick. Perfect and crispy and even makes a multi grain tortilla taste good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Even the non-vegetarians in my family enjoyed this! I didn't change a thing, other than substituting the frozen potato rounds for canned due to what we had on hand, and they turned out great. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
The flavor is awesome.Very easy to make.I did cook the tots first and then kind of mashed them up so they were evenly spread in the mix.I also did not add the cayenne pepper.My picky two year old couldn't get enough of these.The only thing I didn't like was how brown and kind of crispy they got on the bottom.Next time I will do at a lower heat and try flipping them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is pretty good. A couple of changes I would make are: use just 1/2 can of black beans (refried beans would be good, too, I would think), and add more hot sauce, believe it or not. I thought from the ingredients that it would be very, very spicy, but it was between mild and medium. I personally like my food to have a little more of a kick to it. That said, it was good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
An interesting twist on boring old burritos. I used low fat sour cream and added diced chilis, and toasted the tater-tots before adding, and they were perfect paired with a cup of potato corn chowder (also from this site). They microwaved surprisingly well the next day too--still crispy! Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Very good. Made a few changes: substituted one can Rotel diced tomatoes and chiles instead of chopped tomato and chili powder, one small yellow onion chopped, and added 1 c. whole kernel corn. Used dry beans that I soaked in hot water per pkg directions (cheaper). Covered w/can of enchilada sauce and grated mexican blend cheese for last 10 minutes of baking. Great meatless source of protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Really good! I didn't have tomotoes, so I used salsa. Only change I would make next time would be to bake the tater tots first - they tasted a little too firm, which together with the firmness of the beans, was a little much. The mix of flavors was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I made this for my vegetarian daughter and was surprised when the whole family helped themselves, not realizing it was a meatless dish. After eating one each we decided we would like the tortilla a little crisper and threw them under the broiler for a few minutes. They were delicious. I made a few minor changes due to the ingredients I had on hand - dried cilantro, medium cheddar and whole wheat wraps. This will be in our regular rotation - finally a dish everyone likes - and it was so quick and easy too! Update: We make this dish often, but to make it even healthier we substitute brown rice for the tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States