Black Bean Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I didn't have frozen potatoes on hand, so i made my own shredded potatoes using 3 small russet potatoes. Peel them, shred them with a grater, and mix with 2T flour, seasoned salt, chili powder, and about 1/4 c melted butter. Grease aluminum foil placed on a baking sheet. Spread out the potatoes and cook them on 385 for about 45 min, or until crisp. I made something similiar without the potatoes, and they tasted basically the same, just more filling this way. I also boiled a chicken breast and shredded it. Sometimes i add thawed spinach and corn to the mix. I also only bake these at 350 for 30 min, this way you don't have to cover and they crisp up just fine. Good healthy version of a chimichanga type burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These were pretty good overall. I left out the cayenne due to my kids. Everything else I did the same. I loved the cilantro. It reminded me of a baked chimichanga. I think next time I'll melt cheddar cheese over the top before serving. Mmm.. a little grilled steak might be good too. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Her husband is right. She is a genius! I make this often, and my family loves it. The only caution is make sure you do not follow the baking instructions, or you'll burn the burritos. I baked mine on 375 covered for 20 min. Then I turned the oven off, uncovered them, and let them sit in the oven about 10 min. They turned out with just enough crispiness that way. I also leave out the chili and cayenne pepper since I don't like a lot of spice. It's great served with guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I was a little worried that I wouldn't actually like these, but boy was I wrong. They are absolutely delicious. The blend of flavors is perfect. I think the potato adds just the right amount of "meatiness" to these. My husband didn't even mind that they were vegetarian, which is a far stretch for him. I topped them with a little sour cream and green onions. Perfect! Thanks for the recipe imdd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this the other night but I didn't have the frozen tater tots so I substituted rice and ground beef. Everyone loved them...they are so easy to make and very addictive :) They would be a great party food! (I just had to try the smoke thing...it works!!!) haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These are really good. I didn't have any potatoes and only dried cilantro once, but they were still awesome. I also made them with shredded zucchini and black beans with the rest of the toppings the same and they were still delish! This is a great basic recipe to get creative with. I raised the oven temp to 425* for the last 10 minutes and baked them a little longer than the recipe called for. They are kid friendly and easy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made these for a late night snack for my family and friends and we all loved them. If some people think they are bland, they should have their taste buds examined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great and easy recipe! I left out the tomato but added a little more salsa. We didn't even miss that there was no meat in these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I had high hopes for these since I really love burritos and the recipe sounded good. Tried them on Friday nightt, and while they were decent, I was not super impressed by them. The taste was sort of blah, not sure if it was because I used fat free sour cream or because I omitted the cilantro (didn't have any on hand). I used thawed frozen hashbrowns instead of potato rounds, and I liked the texture, but still, the taste was kind of plain. I might try them again and maybe use refried beans instead of black and add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
My husband liked these. I called them American Burritos. They were good with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States