Black Bean Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
cut back on cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timandjocelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We thought it was pretty good. I used about half of a standard can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomato (didn't have one on hand) and I think I may reduce the sour cream next time to 1/2-3/4 cup and increase the potato rounds a bit. I also rough chopped the rounds instead of mashing. I couldn't fit 12 in the pan, so I had quite a bit of filling left over. I put it in a small pyrex dish and baked it along with the "cigars" -- it makes a wonderful dip for chips and veggies! My girls liked them and I'll make them again. I like the idea of putting the dish under the broiler for a few minutes at the end, as well as the idea to add some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Amazing, just amazing!!! Thank you for the template!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These were excellent, I used salsa verde instead of picante sauce and it was amazing! Even my picky daughter ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Made half a recipe last night and left out the potato rounds. Instead used a whole can of beans. Used both whole wheat and flour tortillas and the flour ones browned much better. Served with Amy's cilantro cream sauce (excellent!). Without the cream sauce on the side, the cigars would have been too bland for our tastes. Great concept, but lacking a bit of flavor for our tastes. Definitely will change seasonings the next time, but the concept and basic filling is spot on and very easy to modify for your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I didn't care for the bland flavoring of the potato rounds used in this recipe. I would use brown rice if I ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I use this again & again. A winner in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Exceptional -- these were gone in a flash and even my youngest, the pickiest eater in the world, ate one. A five-star recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Fast, easy, lends itself to modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good, but one word of advice, don't try to make this with whole wheat tortillas. They don't fluff up like flour ones, and instead get hard and icky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States