Black Bean Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I made this for my vegetarian daughter and was surprised when the whole family helped themselves, not realizing it was a meatless dish. After eating one each we decided we would like the tortilla a little crisper and threw them under the broiler for a few minutes. They were delicious. I made a few minor changes due to the ingredients I had on hand - dried cilantro, medium cheddar and whole wheat wraps. This will be in our regular rotation - finally a dish everyone likes - and it was so quick and easy too! Update: We make this dish often, but to make it even healthier we substitute brown rice for the tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I love this recipe! My husband didn't even notice there was no beef. I've made this recipe with rice instead of potatoes and it's still great, especially with Ready Rice it's really easy. FINAL TWEAKS: a few handfuls of frozen tator tots, ro-tel instead of tomatoes, 1C salsa, same cheese, sour cream & seasonings. Combine and burrito-roll into six 10" tortillas, line in 9x13 dish, bake UNCOVERED til light brown & crispy. Reheat in oven: 450 uncovered; reheat in microwave: cut in half, 2 minutes on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozztafarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
We love this recipe. I have made it three times since I downloaded the recipe in october. For some reason, and people didn't seem to mention this in other reviews, but it was very spicy--too spicy, for me the first time. I don't know I'm a pansy or if I missed something, but it was too hot. So I cut the picante sauce in half the second time and it was much easier to manage (and delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
It rocked, just ROCKED. I just bought the potato patties from market day, so they were on hand for my "meatless" lunch. I scaled the recipe to 1 (for my lunch today) and only used 1 patty. I topped with enchilada sauce & sour cream. Thanks so much DeeDee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Really good! I didn't have tomotoes, so I used salsa. Only change I would make next time would be to bake the tater tots first - they tasted a little too firm, which together with the firmness of the beans, was a little much. The mix of flavors was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I've made these several times, but only last night did I follow the recipe closely enough to rate it. These are wonderful! I used a little more cilantro, some cumin, and a lot of red pepper flakes. Turned out great - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Even the non-vegetarians in my family enjoyed this! I didn't change a thing, other than substituting the frozen potato rounds for canned due to what we had on hand, and they turned out great. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This was so good. I made them a little bigger, more burrito like and added more cheese to the top during the final baking. It's just the two of us so we had leftovers and ate them three nights in a row! Oh, I also sliced a little avocado on the side. We love anything Mexican and this is definitely a keeper in our house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I am the "tuesday" cook at my home and sometimes my efforts feed the dogs, but this is a great dish! Even my meat& potatoes son in law even enjoyed it. Easy to make and very tasty. My only problem was that the tortilla seemed to get a bit hard at places. Got any more DeeDee?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
i cant bring myself to eat the frozen, store version of Taquitos, so i am glad to find this recipe. i didnt know what frozen potato rounds were, but i just used the idea from this recipe. i had leftover rice that i added beans, salsa, and cheese to. (i even diced steamed carrots that i had and hid them in there, too) i rolled them up and baked them. the tortillas started to burn but the char actually tasted good :) i think anything with cheese and salsa will taste good in these crunchy wraps! this idea helped me get by using leftovers. shhh! they don't know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States