Black Bean Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made these for a party I had at my house, I used burrito sized tortillas and i cut them into pieces. They were a huge hit, everyone loved them, espically my VEG friends. I made 12 big ones, and there were none left. I will definately be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!! This was one of my first attempts at a veggie meal (I made it about 6 weeks ago!)and the husband and kiddo RAVED!! Although I cut the recipe by half, there was still too much for the three of us, so I opted to freeze half the filling to use later. When unexpected guests popped up today, I was able to 'WOW' them with the leftovers!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricenarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This had potential, but needed something. Next time I'll try substituting pepperjack cheese, a can of rotel insted of the picante, add a pkg. of taco seasoning, and enchilada sauce on top. I also thought it would be good with more tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Nothing spectacular but good. Rather bland even though I followed other reviewer's suggestions and added more seasonings including a ton of cumin. I had to eat them with more salsa to really enjoy them. Don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I was skeptical at first (being used to authentic Mexican food), but these were really delicious! We used habanero cheddar cheese to spice things up and also included 4 tablespoons of Tapatio hot sauce instead of"picante sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These were a great lowfat option for dinner didn't have to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were soooooo good. Instead of tomato I used about 1/4 cup salsa. Next time I'll try adding some jalepenos too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Made it with real potatoes instead of tater tots (not a big fan) and it was a hit. Will make again and again. Will try some of the other suggestions here too, just for variety. Just found out from boyfriend, these make excellent lunches. they held up very well, keeping both taste and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This recipe was good, not the best burrito I ever had, but I will make it again. I used rice instead of potatoes and pinto beans instead of black. I served with a great "Guacamole" recipe I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Made a few changes: used rice instead of potatoes, and added diced chiles and cumin because didn't have any chili or cayenne pepper, had to used mozarella. I thought these were great and will be even better when I make them closer to the recipe. And, if some people like it spicier than others, you can alter the heat in each individual burrito when you fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States