Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I omitted the pork to make this vegetarian and it was still tasty and spicy, so I didn't feel I was giving my vegetarian less than a full meal. I served it with brown rice and she was full. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
OMG this is so good! I sauteed the onion and garlic before putting it in the slow cooker. I also used Andouille sausage instead of pork because that is what I had. I used Rotel instead of salsa and slow cooked on high for 5 hours. Perfect amount of spice. I wish I would have doubled the recipe for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful and quite low in fat!!! We made it just the way it said(I used pork tenderloin because it was on sale and virtually fat free). I figure, if it is good like it is and that easy (I have 3 children under 5) then it is a winner in my house. I threw it all in the Crockpot within minutes and 7 hours later we were enjoying our dinner. I put 2% cheese, low fat sour cream and green onions on top. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Loved it! Very easy and lots of flavor. I used a 1lb package of Boneless Pork Tenerloin that was pre-marinated in Black Peppercorn available at grocery store. I down sized recipe for 2 people and enough for 3-4 servings. Served with a nice tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Only a few minor changes. I doubled the chili powder and cumin. Used one can of black and one of red kidney beans. Also used a hot salsa and added about 1/2 cup chopped celery. Very nice change from the regular chili. I'd say enough for 3 but pushing it for 4 if anyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Got nothing but compliments with this! I doubled the recipe, as I needed more than 4 servings, but I can tell you, this recipe (with out doubling) will feed 6 easily and we are big eaters! Doubling it filled my crock pot to the brim! The only change I mad was to add a can of corn. I also used a can of pork, and made up the rest with cubed pork steaks. Thanks for the recipe! I WILL make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Underwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was really great! The pork was so tender. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a delicious change from your everyday chili. Try using the Bill Echols taco seasoning from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent and quite healthy. Added some flour at the end to thicken a little & more spice to suit our tastes. Served with tortilla chips as recommended. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Who knew chili would be better with black beans. I substituted the pork with ground turkey, added corn, and did 1/2 tsp of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cayenne. I also added in a bit of oregano. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States