Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I liked them, but wish I read the reviews and suggestions more carefully. I did wait until the oil was hot. I used coconut oil, so not sure if that had any effect. I found that if I cooked them TOO long and in TOO much oil, they fell apart. When I cooked them briefly and in just enough oil to season that pan, they were more manageable. I try to avoid corn products, so don't know if I'll try the cornmeal, but perhaps bread crumbs would help. Although keeping them thicker might help too. Flavor was great, although, like others, I don't really like cilantro. I added onion and garlic powder instead. For the sauce, I used non-fat greek yogurt, unsweetened almond milk and a touch of mayonaise. Instead of cayenne pepper, I used Tastefully Simple's Fiesta Party Dip Mix. I ate one patty with the sauce and the other I ate as a "burger" on a whole wheat bun. It worked well for that. I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Good. I'll make them again but not amazing. They are a healthy alternative to beef. For the record, I didn't fry them though, I baked them. Maybe that changed the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had black bean cakes for the first time recently. They were so good, I decided to give them a try. This recipe would have been better if they added some sort of "paste" such as cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Tasty, especially with the sauce. The only thing I wish I'd realized before making this was just how much this recipe would make - in a family of two we have maybe ten dinners' worth of black bean cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I did not make the sauce for the top so it was vegan. I didnt have fresh cilantro and was excited to try it so i did this. 3/4 cup masked black beans, 1/4 cup chopped onion, 1/2 tbl minced garlic, dash chili pepper, dash cayenne, 1 tsp dried cilantro,and 1/2 tsp cumin. Then i cut prtion in half and made into balls. After that i squished them lightly so it was about 2 inches across and 1 1/2 inches tall. They didnt fall apart this way and they were soooo good! Thank you for this amazing idea. Im going to make them into "meat"balls. Also if you have problems with stickyness its because your beans are too wet. They need to be very drained and dont use canned, those are slimy and gross. Plus its cheaper to do it yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Like others I felt the consistancy was a little too soft so I added some cornmeal to make them easier to handle. I skipped the cilantro, (not a fan)cut back on the cumin and used canned beans. End result was good and it made a nice healthy lunch. Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
The taste was good, and the sauce fine. My patties didn't fall apart, but they didn't really seem to cook, either. They only formed the most barely perceptible crust, and were still completely soft inside, even though I had them in the pan for nearly 10 minutes. Not sure what went wrong - the oil should definitely have been hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
When people say these cakes fall apart if you follow the recipe, they must really mean it. I'm usually good at pattie recipes so I thought I could make them work, but the consistency was wasn't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
The cakes were very tasty, but way to soft. It was very hard to turn them over in the pan. I added 2 tsp of cornmeal to the mix, but next time I'll also add 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Hello All: I added one large egg and 3/4 cup of cornmeal. It made it easier to control the patties. I put them on a cookie sheet using parchment paper, then I sprayed a little pam on each pattie. I baked them on 350 for about 30 minutes they came out wonderful and I cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States