Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Not a bad recipe. I'm not a big fan of "smoked" foods, but I thought I would try this anyway with the plan of cutting back on the smokiness of it. I just added 1/4 of the measurement suggested for the liquid smoke and got regular gouda instead of smoked gouda. I am glad I did, because it turned out just right. It was noticeably "smoked" without it being overwhelming. If I had put in the full suggested amount of liquid smoke and added smoked gouda to it like the recipe suggested, I don't think I would have like it. I made my own bread crumbs with some "light" bread for higher fiber and fewer calories, and I found that I could form the patties without having to freeze them for an hour. Otherwise, this is a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Prestage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is great :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Wow!! Awesome Recipe. Added 1Tbsp veggie broth and soy sauce subtracted the ranch dressing and substituted sharp cheddar for Gouda. These burgers were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Every one loved this recipe. First time I made them according to the recipe. Second time just turned it into a black bean loaf. Even more of a hit. My fil asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beliya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this recipe and omitted the ranch because I didn't have any, I love black bean burgers but don't care for pre-made. So I make the beans from scratch and follow the recipe as listed. I freeze them to have on hand for when I don't have time to cook. They turn out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've made a lot of bean burgers and I think this is going to be my standard recipe from now on. No changes needed. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Ok so I made these a few times and I think I found the key to getting the right consistency. I put the beans in a colander and let them sit and drain until all the liquid was out of them. I made the recipe as stated which has very good flavor and just enough spice. I only use one jalepeno since one time I used two and it was too spicy. Also fresh garlic, not from the jar as this adds more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Stumbled onto this recipe while looking for a black bean burger with a little more flavor. Although I did make a few changes (everyone does!), this is a wonderful recipe! First, I smashed my beans rather than using a processor. I prefer the texture this way. I omitted the liquid smoke as I'm not a fan. Instead, I reserved some of the juice from the beans. I added about 1/8 cup to the mixture for consistency. I also substituted panko for bread crumbs, and cut that back to a cup. Lastly, I cooked and added a 1/4 c. quinoa. My jalapeño and onion were cooked with the quinoa, then cooled for a bit before adding to mixture. I had no trouble at all forming these into patties- great consistency. I chilled the mixture in the fridge for about ten minutes while I put my daughter to bed- but it was not necessary to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Really tasty! I didn 't have any jalapeños so I used 2 chipotles in adobo sauce...(2 peppers out of the can). The "burgers" were VERY spicy, but really good. They were hard to make into patties because they were so moist. Next time I will try and dry the beans a little because I think that will help them stick together better. My husband really liked them so this recipe is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States