Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have tried about 10 homemade veggie burger recipes that all had good flavor but fell apart because they were too soft/liquidy. This is the first one i've tried that the burger holds together well and it has good flavor. I will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Ok so I made these a few times and I think I found the key to getting the right consistency. I put the beans in a colander and let them sit and drain until all the liquid was out of them. I made the recipe as stated which has very good flavor and just enough spice. I only use one jalepeno since one time I used two and it was too spicy. Also fresh garlic, not from the jar as this adds more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Every one loved this recipe. First time I made them according to the recipe. Second time just turned it into a black bean loaf. Even more of a hit. My fil asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beliya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Really good. I am trying to incorporate more bean dishes into my families diet and this was a hit for me. First time I've tried homemade bean burgers and I was pleasantly surprised. I omitted the liquid smoke because I didn't have any, cut down the cumin and chili power to 2 teaspoons each and omitted the ranch dressing mix altogether because I'm not a fan of prepackaged junk and they were still delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is great :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've made a lot of bean burgers and I think this is going to be my standard recipe from now on. No changes needed. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
WOW! Delicious. Didn't mince the jalapeno, just de-stemmed one and threw it into the food processor whole with the beans. Took substantially longer to cook until no longer a mushy mess, but that's not a big deal. Used yellow pepper because that's what I had on hand. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Wow!! Awesome Recipe. Added 1Tbsp veggie broth and soy sauce subtracted the ranch dressing and substituted sharp cheddar for Gouda. These burgers were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this recipe and omitted the ranch because I didn't have any, I love black bean burgers but don't care for pre-made. So I make the beans from scratch and follow the recipe as listed. I freeze them to have on hand for when I don't have time to cook. They turn out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Not a bad recipe. I'm not a big fan of "smoked" foods, but I thought I would try this anyway with the plan of cutting back on the smokiness of it. I just added 1/4 of the measurement suggested for the liquid smoke and got regular gouda instead of smoked gouda. I am glad I did, because it turned out just right. It was noticeably "smoked" without it being overwhelming. If I had put in the full suggested amount of liquid smoke and added smoked gouda to it like the recipe suggested, I don't think I would have like it. I made my own bread crumbs with some "light" bread for higher fiber and fewer calories, and I found that I could form the patties without having to freeze them for an hour. Otherwise, this is a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Prestage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States