Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
WOW! Delicious. Didn't mince the jalapeno, just de-stemmed one and threw it into the food processor whole with the beans. Took substantially longer to cook until no longer a mushy mess, but that's not a big deal. Used yellow pepper because that's what I had on hand. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Really good. I am trying to incorporate more bean dishes into my families diet and this was a hit for me. First time I've tried homemade bean burgers and I was pleasantly surprised. I omitted the liquid smoke because I didn't have any, cut down the cumin and chili power to 2 teaspoons each and omitted the ranch dressing mix altogether because I'm not a fan of prepackaged junk and they were still delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have tried about 10 homemade veggie burger recipes that all had good flavor but fell apart because they were too soft/liquidy. This is the first one i've tried that the burger holds together well and it has good flavor. I will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Although these weren't bad, I didn't care for the texture of the patty. I used Gouda chesse per the instructions, but it got lost somewhere between the texture and spices. Next time I use beans to replace a protein I will make bean and cheese quesdilla's. Less prep time and less dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Really tasty! I didn 't have any jalapeños so I used 2 chipotles in adobo sauce...(2 peppers out of the can). The "burgers" were VERY spicy, but really good. They were hard to make into patties because they were so moist. Next time I will try and dry the beans a little because I think that will help them stick together better. My husband really liked them so this recipe is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Stumbled onto this recipe while looking for a black bean burger with a little more flavor. Although I did make a few changes (everyone does!), this is a wonderful recipe! First, I smashed my beans rather than using a processor. I prefer the texture this way. I omitted the liquid smoke as I'm not a fan. Instead, I reserved some of the juice from the beans. I added about 1/8 cup to the mixture for consistency. I also substituted panko for bread crumbs, and cut that back to a cup. Lastly, I cooked and added a 1/4 c. quinoa. My jalapeño and onion were cooked with the quinoa, then cooled for a bit before adding to mixture. I had no trouble at all forming these into patties- great consistency. I chilled the mixture in the fridge for about ten minutes while I put my daughter to bed- but it was not necessary to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Ok so I made these a few times and I think I found the key to getting the right consistency. I put the beans in a colander and let them sit and drain until all the liquid was out of them. I made the recipe as stated which has very good flavor and just enough spice. I only use one jalepeno since one time I used two and it was too spicy. Also fresh garlic, not from the jar as this adds more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've made a lot of bean burgers and I think this is going to be my standard recipe from now on. No changes needed. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this recipe and omitted the ranch because I didn't have any, I love black bean burgers but don't care for pre-made. So I make the beans from scratch and follow the recipe as listed. I freeze them to have on hand for when I don't have time to cook. They turn out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Every one loved this recipe. First time I made them according to the recipe. Second time just turned it into a black bean loaf. Even more of a hit. My fil asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beliya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States