Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. The first time as written and the second time with a few modifications: 1. substituted ground flax seed for the eggs, mixing 3 tablespoons of ground flax seed with 9 tablespoons of freshly brewed coffee. Therefore, eliminating the instant coffee. 2. increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon. 3. added a handful of roasted pecans instead of chocolate chips 4. substituted splenda for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Sometimes I use banana and applesauce in this as well. Egg whites too. I find that I can alter it and it still tastes great as long as I add the chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet). Very versatile recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Super easy to make. I have tried this recipe as originally given and I have substituted the oil for applesauce and cut out 1 1/4 cup of sugar for Stevia. I LOVE them. My nine year old son loves them. Even my picky husband enjoys them. I have made several batches of these now, they are a staple in my kitchen to help me stay on track and be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I loved these! Per other reviews I added 1 tsp baking powder and the texture was awesome. I also added less coffee and a little more cocoa powder. I happen to love black beans but my husband does not and he didn't believe that these had black beans in them. Next time I will substitute oil with applesauce. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I loved these, however my husband did not like them at all. He didn't object the flavor, but he couldn't get past the texture. He knew something was up after the first bite. Hopefully it improves overnight as some previous reviews report.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did not add the instant coffee and still think that they are fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Bad flavor and bad texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These might not be as fudgy as my bragging best, but I thought they were good tasting and moist. The coffee taste was pleasantly strong, but I would halve it next time. I could not detect beans. The texture is light and tender, lacking the chewiness that might accompany a flour based brownie. My husband thought walnuts would be a good addition. I would serve it at a potluck or casual friend get together. Definitely making them again for the grandkids, and I plan to play around with reducing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I substituted 2 TBSP agave and 2 packets stevia for the sugar to make these low-carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The flavor is okay but the texture is like mush. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States