Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I've made these a few times, tweaking things as I went, and finally ended up with product that I love! The texture of the original brownie was not to my liking...somewhat mushy. My changes were as follows: 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin instead of the oil; extra TBL of cocoa powder; no salt; extra tsp of vanilla; 2/3 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup; 1 tsp of cinnamon; 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. I did not use the coffee or chocolate chips. The result is a cake-like brownie with a delicious chocolatey flavor, and only about 75 calories a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
HOLY COW THESE ARE AWESOME!! I've tricked my kids, my husband, my parents, my friends. OK I've tricked everyone I know and they LOVE THEM!! I'll definitely be making these regularly. The only substitution was greek yogurt for the oil and they were still very moist (almost like fudge). Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine McCann Shelton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I enjoyed these, flavor got better with each bite. The texture was a little weird, but not bad. I will make these again, maybe with almond butter, or nutella perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. The first time as written and the second time with a few modifications: 1. substituted ground flax seed for the eggs, mixing 3 tablespoons of ground flax seed with 9 tablespoons of freshly brewed coffee. Therefore, eliminating the instant coffee. 2. increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon. 3. added a handful of roasted pecans instead of chocolate chips 4. substituted splenda for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Sometimes I use banana and applesauce in this as well. Egg whites too. I find that I can alter it and it still tastes great as long as I add the chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet). Very versatile recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Super easy to make. I have tried this recipe as originally given and I have substituted the oil for applesauce and cut out 1 1/4 cup of sugar for Stevia. I LOVE them. My nine year old son loves them. Even my picky husband enjoys them. I have made several batches of these now, they are a staple in my kitchen to help me stay on track and be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I loved these! Per other reviews I added 1 tsp baking powder and the texture was awesome. I also added less coffee and a little more cocoa powder. I happen to love black beans but my husband does not and he didn't believe that these had black beans in them. Next time I will substitute oil with applesauce. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I loved these, however my husband did not like them at all. He didn't object the flavor, but he couldn't get past the texture. He knew something was up after the first bite. Hopefully it improves overnight as some previous reviews report.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did not add the instant coffee and still think that they are fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Bad flavor and bad texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States