Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Yum! Where have these been all my gluten free life?? I made these into cupcakes (they made 12 filled 1/2- ish full of batter) baked at the same time and temperature and they were so good. I did add the coffee and I used vanilla my girlfriend brought back from Mexico and the combo was deadly. All of our kids gobbled them up and had no clue they were made from beans. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Sorry, but there was no hiding the bean taste or texture in these. I was excited to read that they had a chewy texture as I love super chewy brownies, but these were soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These were absolutely delicious, the kids loved them. I made the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I read with interest many of the reviews prior to making these brownies. Some complained they were to dry, others too wet, others claimed these were perfect. I am a very novice baker, and wasn't sure what to expect. I have to say I nailed it first try. How they are too dry or too wet - from "experienced" bakers is beyond me. The texture is somewhat fudgey. I could not taste the beans at all. Using the optional coffee probably is the reason there was no bean taste. I was so proud of my accomplishment, I brought them into work for others to sample. They all loved them - and not because they are all polite people and I am so nice... the compliments were sincere & it was recommended I bring in more for an up coming bake sale - they were the first to sell out and people asked for the recipe - of course I would not give the recipe out (I am not that nice). If anyone has any doubts, do not worry... make these brownies. I did mine completely in a blender... and now add more chocolate chips or sometimes carob. This is a proven winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made these with red kidney beans because I had no black beans and added 1 tsp baking power.....the result was NO bean taste whatsoever and a cake like consistency I also made a chocolate icing to go on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the taste of these. The bean and coffee flavor was too distinguishable, even after adding a little more cocoa powder than was called for. However, these did bake very nicely and really resembled brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe! These didn't taste like beans AT ALL, which I was worried about based on other reviews. It could be because I added extra cocoa powder for a deeper chocolate flavor. These were the changes I made: - 4 TBSP fresh coffee (didn't have instant coffee powder) - Extra 2 TBSP cocoa powder (to balance out extra moisture from coffee) - 1 tsp baking powder (to improve texture, per suggestions in other reviews) - No vanilla, because I didn't have any :( The result was a brownie with a rich, deep chocolate flavor. The texture is different than a normal brownie, but that is to be expected. I used a food processor to blend my ingredients and there were no lumps in the final product. Overall, tasty final product. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Loved these. I detected no bean flavor at all. Added 1 oz of melted bakers chocolate in addition to the 1/3 of cocoa, subbed applesauce for the oil and added baking powder. They are a bit delicate not as durable as box brownies. Will experiment with more beans in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is great! You have to try it. Nothing will ever replace a true brownie but this was pretty close. I am a baker and I did make changes to mask the flavor a bit just based on my experience. I increased coffee & vanilla to 1 tbs each & used coconut oil in place of veg oil. No one knew they were beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Perfect for Celiac's,they were delish and naturally gluten free, I left out the instant coffee and used dark cocoa powder and didn't tell anyone what they were until they tasted them, they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Dana Keaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States