Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I've recently been trying to stay away from flour but I love my sweets and chocolate. I didn't have the coffee, but I have a feeling it would have taken the very mild hint of black bean flavor completely away. I used a lot of chocolate chips which I think helped as well. Great for a healthy twist on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
WOW!!!!!!! I made this for my fiance, as he loves black beans, I told him I was making him something special. He didn't even know there were black beans in there! They are a bit different in texture, but not too much. I'm going to try to make them a little more gooey...but awesome nonetheless! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have a killer sweet tooth and I have to say these are pretty gosh darn good. I experimented a little and found that adding about a teaspoon of baking powder gives a little more cake-like brownie if you prefer that texture. I left out the coffee and I cannot taste any black bean flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pardonmyfrench

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made these for my girlfriends and no one could guess that they contained black beans! Not the same taste as a high calorie double fudge brownie, but still, an amazing brownie considering the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
UNBELIEVABLE! What a treat! I was trying to get rid of some extra milk chocolate chips when I came across this recipe. I'm always on the lookout for good flour-less recipes, so I was excited to give this a try. My family could not believe these were made out of black beans! We could not taste them at all. Thanks for the fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Who'd ever think of using black beans in brownies? My hubby and I are both watching our weight, and since we both love to eat sweets, I was looking for a healthier brownie recipe. I found it! This was surprisingly delicious! The only thing I miss is the flaky topping I'm used to seeing when I make brownies from a box. I followed this recipe exactly, it was moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Delicious! I did, however, add, as one reviewer suggested, a small amount of baking powder to make the brownies more cake-like. They were very delicious and there is no apparent black bean flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Made this recipe with a lot of reservation... how good can a black bean brownie be?? Well, we were blown away by how good they were. Added the 1 tsp baking powder. Will try a little more next week when we make our next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Wow! What a pleasant surprise. Made these last night and was a bit aprehensive to try them, I'm so glad I did! Yummy. Everyone loves them, I've had several requests for the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Oh my wow! These are great! Who would've thunk it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States