Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
The best black bean brownies I've ever had! I've tried several recipes with baking soda and it made the brownie very cake-like. My husband and I love brownies- ok, we love boxed brownies (brownie mixes): Ghiradelli and Betty Crocker top the list. Five stars for a healthier alternative. They can't compare to the boxed variety, but it's not fair to compare a healthier version to an unhealthy one. These black bean brownies don't have that dense-fudgy flavor, but then again they don't have a long list of artificial ingredients that you'd never find in your pantry either. To help mask the bean flavor, we added two tablespoons of creamy peanut butter and the 1/2 cup of chocolate chips to the blender (to make sure we got a taste of real chocolate in every bite). We didn't add the instant coffee, because we didn't have it. The verdict: My three-year olds gobbled them up quickly. My husband knew something was amiss, but he said they were good. We'll definitely make them again as a healthier alternative to brownies. The next time, I'll add more peanut butter and some chopped walnuts. Thank you Elizabeth for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Just made these, and they are delicious! I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder like others commented, and since I was out of vanilla, I used maple syrup! Topped them with powdered sugar, and yum yum yum :) will definitely make again. Can't taste the black beans at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I have to admit, I was hesistant to try this, but it was excellent. I needed a gluten free recipe for a potluck. I did follow some other suggestions and added more cocoa, and 1/2 tsp baking powder. I had no instant coffee so just left it out. I put all liquid ingredients in immersion blender, then stirred in the dry ingredients. One suggestion is to ensure beans are really pureed to get rid of the bits of bean shells, otherwise, when eating the brownies, the texture fells like you are eating whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
LOVE THESE! I had to cook mine way longer than 30 minutes per my changes. I used 3tbsp flaxmeal mixed with 9 tbsp water; 1/3 c chunky peanut butter; 2tbsp applesauce; and 3 tsp ground coffee (not instant). I probably added too much liquid, but adding the peanut butter gives them a rich, almost box-like texture! SO glad I found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Crazy good! I used what I had on hand so oil was Coconut oil, maple syrup instead of sugar - 1/2 cup, 1 tsp of baking powder as recommended, and as the substitution of syrup for sugar made the mixture a bit runny I added some almond flour till the consistency was right. These are the most delicious brownies - not chewey but cake-like, moist and heavenly. I can't believe how easy they were to make. Can't wait to see how they are, cold, tomorrow. Thank you SOOOOO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I know it says the milk chocolate chips are optional, but I was pretty surprised to see these in a "dairy-free" recipe. I replaced with non-dairy chocolate chips and they tasted ok, but I'm really unimpressed by the lack of care when marking this as a dairy-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I added the 1/2 tsp baking soda as others recommended. I also added extra cocoa powder, chocolate chips, and instant coffee powder. The flavor was slightly bean-ish. To me, it was reminiscent of "an" (japanese sweet bean paste used as filling in daifuku and other sweets). I gave it four stars because it's a gluten-free and dairy-free recipe that doesn't have weird ingredients (xantham gum? what is that?). It's a decent recipe if you have food intolerances, but not an ideal substitute otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great! I tweaked it just a little by using applesauce in place of the oil, and instead of 3/4 c sugar, I used about a 1/3 c sugar and 1/4 stevia. Also I added the teaspoon of baking powder a few other folks suggested to make them "cakier". They turned out absolutely delicious and virtually guilt free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Fantastic! I made a double batch of these for the Superbowl party, and they went like hotcakes. No one had any idea they were "special." Love that they're gluten free. The only change I made was incoprorating butterscotch chips with the chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My Gluten free friend always asks me to bring these over. Everybody loves them, no one can tell they have beans in them, or are flourless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States