Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Bad flavor and bad texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These might not be as fudgy as my bragging best, but I thought they were good tasting and moist. The coffee taste was pleasantly strong, but I would halve it next time. I could not detect beans. The texture is light and tender, lacking the chewiness that might accompany a flour based brownie. My husband thought walnuts would be a good addition. I would serve it at a potluck or casual friend get together. Definitely making them again for the grandkids, and I plan to play around with reducing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I substituted 2 TBSP agave and 2 packets stevia for the sugar to make these low-carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The flavor is okay but the texture is like mush. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I like these as a chocolate craving killer, but I do not know how to fix the texture that these have. I can always tell that there is beans, and something about that messes with my brain. lol I will definitely make these again one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingKathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
OMG this is so good! My new go to brownie recipe. I did follow the reviews and added more cocoa powder (half cup) and more sugar by adding extra quarter cup. Used coconut oil as well. They are devine. Thanks for a wonderful moist recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Easy and delicious! GREAT alternative for those with a wheat/gluten allergy. I have also used Garbanzo beans using brown sugar,leaving out the cocoa powder and used butterscotch chips instead of chocolate chips. Also, used dark red kidney beans and put in some cherries and cherry juice left out the coffee and chocolate chips. Topped with Sugar Free cool whip..... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is a pretty good replacement for brownies. It's not identical to a regular brownie, but everyone really liked it. The only change I made was sprinkling almonds on top instead of the chocolate chips. It added a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I add 1 teaspoon of baking powder to give it a more cakey texture. I also recommend REALLY blending it well - you can end up with a grainy texture otherwise. Also I top with cocoa nibs, it adds a nuttiness to it as well as antioxidants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
These are great, especially for those with gluten allergies! I didn't like the first one because I was thinking about beans so it tasted like beans. After that, I just thought "chocolate" and they were great! My husband loves them as well - didn't see that one coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States