Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Super easy to make. I have tried this recipe as originally given and I have substituted the oil for applesauce and cut out 1 1/4 cup of sugar for Stevia. I LOVE them. My nine year old son loves them. Even my picky husband enjoys them. I have made several batches of these now, they are a staple in my kitchen to help me stay on track and be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I loved these! Per other reviews I added 1 tsp baking powder and the texture was awesome. I also added less coffee and a little more cocoa powder. I happen to love black beans but my husband does not and he didn't believe that these had black beans in them. Next time I will substitute oil with applesauce. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I loved these, however my husband did not like them at all. He didn't object the flavor, but he couldn't get past the texture. He knew something was up after the first bite. Hopefully it improves overnight as some previous reviews report.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did not add the instant coffee and still think that they are fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Bad flavor and bad texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These might not be as fudgy as my bragging best, but I thought they were good tasting and moist. The coffee taste was pleasantly strong, but I would halve it next time. I could not detect beans. The texture is light and tender, lacking the chewiness that might accompany a flour based brownie. My husband thought walnuts would be a good addition. I would serve it at a potluck or casual friend get together. Definitely making them again for the grandkids, and I plan to play around with reducing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I substituted 2 TBSP agave and 2 packets stevia for the sugar to make these low-carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The flavor is okay but the texture is like mush. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I like these as a chocolate craving killer, but I do not know how to fix the texture that these have. I can always tell that there is beans, and something about that messes with my brain. lol I will definitely make these again one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingKathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
OMG this is so good! My new go to brownie recipe. I did follow the reviews and added more cocoa powder (half cup) and more sugar by adding extra quarter cup. Used coconut oil as well. They are devine. Thanks for a wonderful moist recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States