Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Sorry, but there was no hiding the bean taste or texture and they were soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These were absolutely delicious, the kids loved them. I made the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I read with interest many of the reviews prior to making these brownies. Some complained they were to dry, others too wet, others claimed these were perfect. I am a very novice baker, and wasn't sure what to expect. I have to say I nailed it first try. How they are too dry or too wet - from "experienced" bakers is beyond me. The texture is somewhat fudgey. I could not taste the beans at all. Using the optional coffee probably is the reason there was no bean taste. I was so proud of my accomplishment, I brought them into work for others to sample. They all loved them - and not because they are all polite people and I am so nice... the compliments were sincere & it was recommended I bring in more for an up coming bake sale - they were the first to sell out and people asked for the recipe - of course I would not give the recipe out (I am not that nice). If anyone has any doubts, do not worry... make these brownies. I did mine completely in a blender... and now add more chocolate chips or sometimes carob. This is a proven winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the taste of these. The bean and coffee flavor was too distinguishable, even after adding a little more cocoa powder than was called for. However, these did bake very nicely and really resembled brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe! These didn't taste like beans AT ALL, which I was worried about based on other reviews. It could be because I added extra cocoa powder for a deeper chocolate flavor. These were the changes I made: - 4 TBSP fresh coffee (didn't have instant coffee powder) - Extra 2 TBSP cocoa powder (to balance out extra moisture from coffee) - 1 tsp baking powder (to improve texture, per suggestions in other reviews) - No vanilla, because I didn't have any :( The result was a brownie with a rich, deep chocolate flavor. The texture is different than a normal brownie, but that is to be expected. I used a food processor to blend my ingredients and there were no lumps in the final product. Overall, tasty final product. It doesn't compare to a real brownie, but if you think of it as a separate dessert, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Loved these. I detected no bean flavor at all. Added 1 oz of melted bakers chocolate in addition to the 1/3 of cocoa, subbed applesauce for the oil and added baking powder. They are a bit delicate not as durable as box brownies. Will experiment with more beans in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is great! You have to try it. Nothing will ever replace a true brownie but this was pretty close. I am a baker and I did make changes to mask the flavor a bit just based on my experience. I increased coffee & vanilla to 1 tbs each & used coconut oil in place of veg oil. No one knew they were beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Perfect for Celiac's,they were delish and naturally gluten free, I left out the instant coffee and used dark cocoa powder and didn't tell anyone what they were until they tasted them, they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Dana Keaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
For protein-filled brownies these are pretty darn tasty. I used the 1 tsp of baking powder as well and it came out with a hearty texture. I wouldn't say these are healthy, because no amount of chocolate and sugar is, but they're definitely a less fattening option (with the protein - which is great for vegetarians like me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
These are surprising and super chocolately! I didn't have vanilla so I just used a few more chocolate chips. I also added the 1 tsp of baking powder as another reviewer suggested. I tried baking them in muffin pans and they are like little brownie cupcakes! Definitely making again. Especially since my hubby won't have a clue I'm sneaking in beans into his diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States