Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I was excited for this recipe, I had a black bean brownie recipe that I LOVED and i lost it, so I am on the hunt for one that is close, this is NOT IT. It was way to sweet, it just seemed artificial, or like there was some cheap, low quality chocolate in it. I it was not very good. I put some baking powder in it (1tsp) because I don't like it too dense, but I just didn't like the texture, I didn't like the flavor. This recipe was not for me, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Wow of course it's a different texture and slightly different flavor; the texture is the biggest difference from regular brownies. But after finally trying the black bean brownies I am very impressed! Tastes great and yay that there's no butter and not so much sugar. This recipe could really replace regular brownies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilyonfire
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These were awesome. I thought the batter was a little bit thin so I added 1/3 cup of gluten free oat bran. They're so chocolatey and you can't even tell they have beans in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Delicious! I added a little more unsweetened cocoa and a little more vanilla as well. Also added walnuts and topped with frozen yogurt. Used cane sugar instead of the white. Family loved, told them that they were " black bean brownies" after they ate them the look of shock came across their faces lol I think next time I will try with applesauce instead of the vegetable oil (have done that to many recipes and always comes out great) and will substituted each egg with 1 tbls of ground flax plus 3 tbls of water. Awesome recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Excellent! This are so delicious! I added 3 tsp of strong brewed coffee instead of the instant. I made some last week and am making them again tonight. They are in the oven. Can't wait until they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipes says. I loved these. I like the fact there is no flour in it. Next time I will try using apple sauce instead of the oil as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
BAD aftertaste. They look like brownies but even if you can get past the strange texture and convince yourself you can't taste the beans, they really stick with you in a bad way. I love brownies and I substitute healthier ingredients in them all the time, but won't use beans again...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried it without the chocolate chips or the instant coffee, and I absolutely love them! Not only are they easier to make than traditional brownies, but the texture is smooth, and they are delicious! I think when I make them again, I'll make them with either a little more cocoa powder or with the chocolate chips on the top. I am most definitely planning on making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
The taste is fine, but mine didn't really bake. They're mush on the inside. The outside is cooked, but inside they're raw. I baked them at 350 for 30 minutes and didn't deviate from the recipe at all. These seem like they would be great if I could get them to cook all the way. I don't know what went wrong. Did anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions on how to fix this? [And yes, I did have the oven turned on. So no jokes about that! ;) ]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Just made these brownies for the first time and am very pleased with how they turned out. I took the recommendations of some other reviewers and added about 3/4 t of baking powder and used 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the oil. I topped the brownies with the brownie frosting recipe (also from this site) and am very happy with the results. Be sure to place the ingredients in a blender or food processor. I didn't; just used by KitcheAide and I had tiny chunks of beans in the final product. Not a big deal~still tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States