Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I was really excited to try this recipe because I love all of the ingredients. I'm always down for a dip. But this was really disappointing. I made it exactly as written and it was extremely bland. It made no sense to me, because all of the things that went in it are delicious. But here's the deal; The olive oil pretty much cuts the lime taste completely. I would recommend either omitting it completely or severely decreasing the amount. It also needs more spices, so crank up that cayenne (if you have a taste for spicy) and maybe add some cumin & garlic powder. Also, frozen corn is weird and gives a bad texture. I would recommend canned or even fresh. I gave this two stars because it's a really good concept, it just needs some work to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My 3 year old son loved this!!! Very easy, pretty and yummy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I omitted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is so delicious! And healthy. I add extra cilantro, simply because I adore cilantro. Other than that, no changes to recipe were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pprinss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed this recipe as far as the ingredients go, but kind of winged it with the measurements, as I was making it for a baby shower for 30 people. I made it about 6 hours ahead of time, and let it sit in the fridge. I got a little bowl shortly before I left (just to make sure it was ok), and I thought "meh...it's ok". I brought the salad along with about 100 pastelitos I'd made over the last couple of days. When I got to the party, I gave the salad a good mix, set everything out and went to mingle with the guests. About an hour or so into the party, I noticed that people were starting to eat. Shortly after that, I had my first compliment about the salad. After that, the flood gates opened and it literally became the talk of the party. I emailed the recipe to 3 people right there in the middle of the party. I thought that maybe I was missing something, because I didn't think it was THAT good (but I'm not the biggest fan of lemon/lime based dressings either). I made myself a little plate, and gave it another try. This time I thought it was SO good. I think mixing it once I got there along with a bit more time of letting the flavors merry did the trick. Either way, I'm a huge fan and plan on making some tomorrow to bring for lunch and as a side to dinner. Maybe next time I'll experiment with a bit of orange juice along with the lemon. Either way, it's healthy and tasty! Oh, one thing I didn't add is the cilantro. Not a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Okay, I totally improvised but used this recipe as a guideline. Winner! I cooked a pound of black beans from scratch. Yeah, that took a half day -- but it's just soaking and letting them cook properly while I'm doing other stuff so no biggie. When they were done, I rinsed them like canned beans and used them as the base of the salad. Didn't have some of the ingredients and never care for raw onions in anything anyway so I used a 15 oz. can of whole kernel corn (drained) and a 15 oz. can of Hunts diced, stewed tomatoes that already have bell pepper and garlic in them - also DRAINED. I had dried cilantro in my spice rack. Added somewhere between a tsp and a tbsp of that to the dressing recipe. Minced a clove of elephant garlic I grew last season. Ended up with about 1/4 cup of lime juice because I only had one good lime in the house. Didn't have an avocado or I would definitely have used that -- and fresh cilantro. My challenge though was to make a delicious, vegan dish that I can take to church tomorrow to share, without having to leave the house for a single ingredient simply because I didn't want to get dressed and go to the store. Delish! Indeed, it was good with the first 3 ingredients. Dressing just made it POP. Hoping the flavors meld overnight in the fridge and it's even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
WOW! My stomach is smiling! It was over 32C (90F) here, and I made this early for our evening meal. Neither my daughter or I could wait that long to have a bowl, and it didn't disappoint us. I used 3 ears of fresh corn (raw) and only half the oil as per other reviewers. I couldn't find any cilantro today, but I will pick some up tomorrow for the leftovers- if there are any! I have never reviewed a recipe before, but I just had to say something good here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yummy and very versatile! I brought it to a football party where fajitas were served for dinner. This was used for chip dip during the game, as a salad on the side with dinner, and as a topping for the fajitas! Yum! It makes tons though so next time I will probably make half. Oh, I also used 1/2 cup fresh lime juice and only 1/4 cup olive oil as per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Big hit everywhere I take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is one of our family's favorites. It's great as written, but to suit our preferences we've modified it a bit over the years. We add a second avocado, a little cumin and a splash of red wine vinegar. And we reduce the oil a bit. This is great with tortilla chips, over grilled meats, or tossed with toasted cubed bread to make a panzanella. You really can't go wrong. Just leave the avocado to the very end if you want it to look pretty. It gets mushy. We don't care. It still rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States