Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this salad for several events last summer and it was always a winner. It is colorful and looks beautiful on the table. I tried reducing the black beans to one can and it was even better. The lime juice and cilantro are essential to the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
super! will make this over and over. I added avacardo chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
So delicious. The only change I made was to half the amount of olive oil. And I agree that fresh squeezed lime juice is a must. I could eat a big bowl of this as a meal. I served it as a side dish at a get-together, and most people ate this with tortilla chips. Although I had not intended for it to be an appetizer, it turned out to be the hit appetizer of the night. It was very good with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Everyone loved this salad. I used a can of corn, 1 can black beans, only 2 Tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. I left out the cayenne pepper. I was in a hurry and so instead of making the dressing separately I threw everything together and mixed it up. I did add the avocado at the end and gently mixed that in. I served this salad as a side dish and filling for 'Pico de Gallo Chicken Quesadillas.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
A fantastic recipe...thanks Jen. I'm a big fan of cumin, so add a bit, and stir in the tomatoes close to serving time. Also was inspired by a recent trip to Puerto Rico where I tasted something similar (but not quite as good), and used chopped fresh mangoes instead of tomatoes, which was a delicious version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Delicious! Must try with tortilla chips. Didn't care for the cilantro, but the rest was the perfect refreshing mix for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Browneyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SOFTCHELL
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe! I love how colorful it is. Taste is great - the lime juice and cilantro are zingy & fresh and nicely balanced with the creaminess of the avocado. Agree with others about decreasing amount of olive oil. I am making this my go-to recipe for any potluck or gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was sooo good. I made it for dinner last night but it was eaten before it was on the table and I had to make a second batch. I added rice to my bowl and that was my meal. I did increase the lime and reduce the evoo as suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Good and refreshing! I also cut down the olive oil and used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies, added avocado later. I have been eating it with tortilla chips. Will make a lot this summer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States