Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Added chopped avocado and cumin as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Loved It! Traded red onions for the green and sliced some cherry tomatoes - glad I did because the tomatoes held up under the stirring. Go easy on the salt until you taste-it needs some...but the beans and corn may have been salted in processing. Lessening the oil makes no difference in taste, but sure takes down the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very flavorful and filling! Serve with tortilla chips or toasted soft tortilla shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a great summer salad, the guys like it also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Watts
Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing!! Made this for a BBQ on Labor Day and it was a hit. Excellent flavor... At least the way I made it. I left cilantro out and up the red pepper and garlic. Left the oil and lime ratio the same. I don't like green onion so I sautéed white onion and added the peppers (red and orange). It was very yummy!! Did I mention this was fabulous? Well IT WAS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinrueff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very good fresh taste. I use garlic salt because I didn't have fresh on hand. Turned out great. I also add tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I was put in charge of a side dish for a cook out that the main dish was grilled tacos so I found this recipe and thought it would just be ok. It makes a lot and it does take some time to put together. The fresh ingredients make it great so it's worth the time it takes in chopping! I read reviews where the oil was cut to 1/4 cup so I did change that for mine as well and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again. Everyone loved it and there was not one bite left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Reading 6 green onions – in my mind registered 6 ‘bunches'. Made 50 servings for 25th anniversary. Prepared layers days ahead, put all together hrs. before serving. Started onions, thinking bunches purchased 20 bunches (8 onions /bunch) Some added red onion, cutting red onion easier than green onions. ½ through green onion cutting–REALISED 6 GREEN ONIONS–not 6 bunches! 80 green onions were a little more needed plus red & white onion added. Assembling layers, next-cut up peppers. Mild chili red peppers more cost effective red sweet peppers (@$1.89 each vs. $1.99 lb. chili) used 1 red sweet pepper, lb. mild red chili peppers, + couple green peppers. Next made dressing. Initially got bag of limes. Realizing needed more, purchased several individual limes. Individual limes juiced easily. Bagged limes pain juicing. Lesson learned - higher quality limes difference was pennies, labor juicing – BIG DIFFERENCE. Now I’ll buy limes individually Purchase garlic bulk cloves then freeze. Pureed frozen garlic w/ lime juice & cayenne. Many reviewers 2x lime juice & dramatically reduced oil. So did I. Recipe 50 servings = 4 cups oil I used 1 cup. Cilantro, tomatoes & avocado last, day serving put all together. I’ll include recipe in thank you cards. Modest amount left over, many stated this does not store well, they were certainly not as wonderful as initial serving – but a great left over. This was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Holy schmoly, this is a winner. I omitted the bell peppers because I don't care for them, and used boiled corn on the cob instead of frozen. It is so delicious! If I could improve one thing, it would be to add more avocado, perhaps increasing the amount to 2 whole avocados. All the same, I will be making this easy salad again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
So if you are too tired or lazy to cut up all the veggies I used some fresh salsa I had on hand and mixed it with the corn black beans avocado lime and I used knorr tomato seasoning to add a bit more flavor. You don't even need the oil and it's a super healthy snack my kid loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States