Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Okay, I totally improvised but used this recipe as a guideline. Winner! I cooked a pound of black beans from scratch. Yeah, that took a half day -- but it's just soaking and letting them cook properly while I'm doing other stuff so no biggie. When they were done, I rinsed them like canned beans and used them as the base of the salad. Didn't have some of the ingredients and never care for raw onions in anything anyway so I used a 15 oz. can of whole kernel corn (drained) and a 15 oz. can of Hunts diced, stewed tomatoes that already have bell pepper and garlic in them - also DRAINED. I had dried cilantro in my spice rack. Added somewhere between a tsp and a tbsp of that to the dressing recipe. Minced a clove of elephant garlic I grew last season. Ended up with about 1/4 cup of lime juice because I only had one good lime in the house. Didn't have an avocado or I would definitely have used that -- and fresh cilantro. My challenge though was to make a delicious, vegan dish that I can take to church tomorrow to share, without having to leave the house for a single ingredient simply because I didn't want to get dressed and go to the store. Delish! Indeed, it was good with the first 3 ingredients. Dressing just made it POP. Hoping the flavors meld overnight in the fridge and it's even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
WOW! My stomach is smiling! It was over 32C (90F) here, and I made this early for our evening meal. Neither my daughter or I could wait that long to have a bowl, and it didn't disappoint us. I used 3 ears of fresh corn (raw) and only half the oil as per other reviewers. I couldn't find any cilantro today, but I will pick some up tomorrow for the leftovers- if there are any! I have never reviewed a recipe before, but I just had to say something good here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yummy and very versatile! I brought it to a football party where fajitas were served for dinner. This was used for chip dip during the game, as a salad on the side with dinner, and as a topping for the fajitas! Yum! It makes tons though so next time I will probably make half. Oh, I also used 1/2 cup fresh lime juice and only 1/4 cup olive oil as per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Big hit everywhere I take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is one of our family's favorites. It's great as written, but to suit our preferences we've modified it a bit over the years. We add a second avocado, a little cumin and a splash of red wine vinegar. And we reduce the oil a bit. This is great with tortilla chips, over grilled meats, or tossed with toasted cubed bread to make a panzanella. You really can't go wrong. Just leave the avocado to the very end if you want it to look pretty. It gets mushy. We don't care. It still rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yummy my husband loved it ! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Wonderful flavor the first day! All kinds of things you could do to make it your own.. like add some crumbled feta, or diced chicken or diced jalapeno. Not as good the second day, starts losing its pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe is super easy to make and is always a hit. I followed the recipe as it is and turned out great. I have made it numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Delicious!!! It is a bit time consuming but so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I love the simplicity and versatility of of this salad because you can substitute any vegetables for the ones listed above in the recipe as long as you have corn and beans in the mix! The cilantro adds a freshness that compliments this salad and not only is this recipe delicious!, but it is really healthy! Oh, but I don't use olive oil because I don't like the taste and there is way too much in this recipe. In fact, I don't use oil at all! After the flavours have time to sit and mingle, the salad has enough delicious flavour without the need for extra fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States