Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We just had this on top of our fish tacos tonight. I thought it was very good and a little different from our usual toppings (because I was out of them). I used fresh lemon juice instead of lime, canned corn, and no red pepper - all because that is what I had. I added some oregano and ground cumin to the dressing to give it a little more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This salad is fantastic! I have served at many occassions and there are never any leftovers! You can make ahead, but add the avacado when ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Needed a tad more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. It's very hot here and we love cold recipes! I made this recipe twice in one week, one for a family gathering where all of the leftovers were taken home by others, then again for us. I did not add cilantro (because it's the one thing I can't stand) and, the second time, I reduced the oil by 1/2 because I felt like it had too much juice (but it was great!). Turned out, I actually missed the extra flavor of the olive oil, so the next time I make it, I will go back to the full amount. The 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper did not keep my non-spicy eater from eating this. I recommended this recipe to a friend who said she added her avocado later but mine held up well being added in at the beginning. It did not become mushy. Thanks for the recipe, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
EXCELLENT. I did add just a tiny bit of cumin to this recipe for a little added boost. A definite hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This salad is truly delicious! Always a big hit with our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Absolutely delicious and colorful. The lime dressing is the perfect touch to bring the ingredients together. Great salad for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This salad was amazing! I reduced the amount of olive oil by half and increased the lime juice. The cayenne gives it the perfect kick. Great summer salad with anythng BBQ'd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Love this! It deserves a name with more flair! Very versatile. Good as a stand alone salad, on tortilla chips, or as a taco topper. For lunch, a tasty side is cheddar jalapeno toast. I was concerned about the avocado turning brown in the fridge so I left that out and just added it to each portion as I ate it. It lasted several days in the fridge that way. I also tossed in a diced serrano pepper for a little heat and cut down on the olive oil a bit. I found that two limes gave just the right amount of juice. I tossed in some diced peach with the leftovers one day and that was a good variation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
i love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 964) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States