Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
Tried this with frozen corn niblets rubbed with a little olive oil, spread on aluminum foil lined cokie sheet at 375 degree oven for 30 - 40 min. (stir from time to time) proceeded with rest of recipe as idicated. This does change a lot to the final taste by adding a lot more flavor. Also great with a little sour cream added & served on Corn chips as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
The best thing about this dish is that it's versatile: you can omit any ingredient you don't like, or add anything you have on hand. You can eat it with corn chips, tortillas or just with a fork! My favorites are black eyed peas, black beans, corn and green peppers. Also works with Caesar garlic dressing. Some days I bring a batch in to work and we all eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I put this with diced tomato, advacado and red onion into warmed corn tortillas and topped it with a tiny sprinkle of mexican cheese. Best tacos ever! My husband insisted that I never make anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alfred Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Cheating a bit rating this recipe when I changed it so much apologies! Here goes: Used fresh cilantro, substituted black beans for skinned, seeded and diced tomatoes, used red onion instead of ones stated and for dressing whisked together balsamic vinegar, juice of one lime, splenda sweetener, salt, black pepper and of course the cayenne and cumin stated. Left for two hours and served with veggie bean chili and white rice: FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Black bean salad recipes are pretty much the same, one to the next. What drew me to this recipe was the cumin and it proved to be a nice addition. I used fresh lemon juice and olive oil rather than the balsamic vinaigrette for a lighter, fresher taste. For the "seasoned pepper' I used Montreal Steak Seasoning. That, too, was a good choice! And simply for a little more crunchy texture I threw in some chopped celery, especially since I omitted the corn. Fairly basic, but neverless tasty black bean salad, which certainly can be tinkered with to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I have made this salad several times for potlucks -- it is always received very well, and people ask me to continue bring it! Don't be afraid to up the spices a bit -- I added extra cumin, cayenne, and pepper, and people really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
great recipe... (I added more cayenne pepper for an extra kick) I brought it to a picnic recently as a side dish and almost everyone there asked me for the recipe! I plan on making this again as a main course and putting them on tortilla wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
My family and I loved this recipe. I took it to a Cinco De Mayo celebration and it was a hit! Very flavorful. I added fresh cilantro and omitted the onions. I also mixed brown sugar and lime juice into the dressing and added salt and ground pepper to taste. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I really enjoyed this recipe. Very easy to make. I would probably turn the heat up just a bit on this the next time. Next time I may try it as an appetizer with some good tortilla chips. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I simply adore this recipe! I've even been able to get my vegie-phobic boyfriend to try it and he loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States