Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I went to a family gathering where someone had brought this dish, and was amazed at how wonderful this is. I like to add tomatoes to it as well. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I have made this dish about 6x in the past 3 months. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Black bean salad recipes are pretty much the same, one to the next. What drew me to this recipe was the cumin and it proved to be a nice addition. I used fresh lemon juice and olive oil rather than the balsamic vinaigrette for a lighter, fresher taste. For the "seasoned pepper' I used Montreal Steak Seasoning. That, too, was a good choice! And simply for a little more crunchy texture I threw in some chopped celery, especially since I omitted the corn. Fairly basic, but neverless tasty black bean salad, which certainly can be tinkered with to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Loved it. great summer salad and its so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avery

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
great! easy! I omitted the cilantro and cumin and it was still excellent. Very versatile, serve with fahitas. grilled steak or chicken, etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Yummy! Good flavor and so colorful! Very pretty addition to the table. Went wonderfully with our black bean & rice burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We love this recipe. It makes a ton so I often make it with only one can of beans and one can of corn while keeping everything else as written. For extra color I use red onion if I have it in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I thought this salad was great! I took reviewers suggestions and made some changes. Wasn't sure which suggestions I'd like so I hedged my bets, split the recipe in half and did different things for both halves. In both salads I used corn off the cob that I had frozen over the summer, just thawed it out. Also used fresh cilantro for both. In one half I used a white onion and green onions and in the other half I used only a red onion. I keep tasting both and can't tell a true difference between them. The one with the green onions looks a little prettier though with the extra color. Next time I might just use only the green onion and nix the white and reds. I also used another reviewers suggestion of putting it on a corn chip and then I put a dollop of sour cream on top. When I mixed the sc into the salad it took away from the color of it so the dollop on top looked best. The longer it's marinated the better the flavors. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
very yummy! I roasted the corn and it really made it wonderful. Even my young boys liked it several nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Love it! This has become my new summer go-to recipe. I add tiny chunks of pepperjack cheese, use red onion and fresh cilantro. I make sure to let it sit overnight, makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States