Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I've made this before- however, I'm much more a fan of this recipe with a vinaigrette made from lime or lemon juice with oil instead of the basalmic. I also use red onions chopped finely instead of scallions. The soft crunch of the onion is more satisfying, and I like the brightness of the lime with the cilantro and cumin. Just make not sure to overkill on the lime- which is easy to do. I also add a smidge more cayenne- I love the heat! I use this on tacos, with chips, on eggs- you name it! Its just a great way to get in extra protein and some veggies. Fresh Corn is so much better! But I regularly used frozen when its out of season. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This salad is delicious & so easy to throw together! The flavor of the black beans mixed with the corn, onions & spices is perfect. This dish also lasts for days & can be used as a main dish or a side. I made it for myself & my boyfriend, this time... but I think I'll also make it for the next potluck I go to! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefany Sherman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This salad is terrific Very flavorful and pretty to boot! Thanks, Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made this for pot luck, was really enjoyed be all. My daughter and I finished off as a dip with taco chips. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So easy and so good! I made it for a potluck and it was the first thing to go :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Pretty good, but lacking in flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made the recipe pretty much as is, using fresh cilantro and doubling the spices. My twist was adding mashed avocado in as well. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Enjoyable and refreshing. I served this over a bed of romaine hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I need to make this again and wait the recommended time. I made it one hour before eating and the flavors didn't combine well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I went to a family gathering where someone had brought this dish, and was amazed at how wonderful this is. I like to add tomatoes to it as well. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States