Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made this the other night for a pre-July 4th gathering and it was a hit. Since it was so hot out, I wanted something cold and also something without mayo, meat or anything else that could easily spoil. I used Newman's balsamic vinaigrette dressing, organic canned black beans and organic canned kernel corn, a red bell pepper, and green onions; I omitted the regular onion. I goofed when making this and didn't mix the dressing ingredients separately as the recipe called for, but just tossed everything into a bowl at once and mixed it...and it was still great. As one reviewer suggested, I added a bit more cayenne pepper, as most of my friends like a little more heat, and it was just right. My plan this weekend is to do what another reviewer suggested and use this as a filling for tacos. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Amazing recipe...I make it whenever I´m invited to a picnic, baby shower, etc. The ONLY difference is that I add FRESH cilantro and a medium diced avocado. Other than that...fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kirch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious!!! I used this recipe as a template and modified to taste. I only used a pinch of cayenne pepper and cumin. I didnt have balsamic vinegarette so I just used balsamic vinegar and I doubled the cilantro. I also skipped the bell pepper because I'm not a fan. Adding tomatoes is a must!! I would have included avacado, but there weren't any ripe ones at the grocery store. This recipe is hard to mess up and is sooo tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andersona1129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I really like this. I make it a lot, as I don't get a lunch hour at work, but am off at 2 and home at 2:30. It makes a great, already prepared lunch. I serve it on top of a green salad, scoop it with chips, use as a topping for tacos or fajitas, or even just eat it as a side dish alongside some grilled chicken. I have since tweaked it, though to be more friendly to my normal eating lifestyle. Instead of balsamic dressing, I just use balsamic vinegar (or red wine works well too). I season with 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne. I use 1/4 cup freshly chopped cilantro, one stalk of green onion, and a chopped red bell pepper. It's perfect just like this, and oil free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Ok as written. Spectacular with the following changes: skip the salad dressing and "seasoned pepper" and instead add a hint of olive oil, some lime juice, and a dash of black pepper. Substitute 1 and 2/3 of a cup of freshly made black beans for each 15 ounce can, use around 1/4 of a cup of fresh cilantro, chop and add add two ripe tomatoes, and lightly mix in a ripe avocado at the very end. With those changes this was a refreshing salad that paired well with the grilled salmon we were having. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe was so easy and SO good! I made it twice in the last 2 weeks and got so many great reviews. It is so refreshing and tasty. You can eat it so many ways; plain, on a salad, with crackers, on rice or in a burrito. Will definitely be a frequent in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Yummy! Very healthy and fresh tasting. A lovely addition to any BBQ or picnic during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Very tasty - my only complaint would be to use a pre-made salad dressing, so I used the Spiced Balsamic Vinagrette recipe on this site which is also excellent. Perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Simple and so flavourful! I think that next time I might up the spices a bit, especially the cayenne, to give it more kick. I halved the recipe and mostly stuck to it, but used regular black pepper, only green onions, and fresh cilantro. Made it for a barbecue potluck -- I let it sit in the fridge overnight and the flavours were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I added the juice of a whole lime and a handful of chopped cilantro, and cut back the vinaigrette to a third cup. The vinaigrette was a little overpowering for me, so the lime toned it down a little. One can each, garbonzo,white corn,yellow corn and black beans. definately a keeper, a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States