Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious!!! I used this recipe as a template and modified to taste. I only used a pinch of cayenne pepper and cumin. I didnt have balsamic vinegarette so I just used balsamic vinegar and I doubled the cilantro. I also skipped the bell pepper because I'm not a fan. Adding tomatoes is a must!! I would have included avacado, but there weren't any ripe ones at the grocery store. This recipe is hard to mess up and is sooo tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andersona1129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I really like this. I make it a lot, as I don't get a lunch hour at work, but am off at 2 and home at 2:30. It makes a great, already prepared lunch. I serve it on top of a green salad, scoop it with chips, use as a topping for tacos or fajitas, or even just eat it as a side dish alongside some grilled chicken. I have since tweaked it, though to be more friendly to my normal eating lifestyle. Instead of balsamic dressing, I just use balsamic vinegar (or red wine works well too). I season with 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne. I use 1/4 cup freshly chopped cilantro, one stalk of green onion, and a chopped red bell pepper. It's perfect just like this, and oil free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Ok as written. Spectacular with the following changes: skip the salad dressing and "seasoned pepper" and instead add a hint of olive oil, some lime juice, and a dash of black pepper. Substitute 1 and 2/3 of a cup of freshly made black beans for each 15 ounce can, use around 1/4 of a cup of fresh cilantro, chop and add add two ripe tomatoes, and lightly mix in a ripe avocado at the very end. With those changes this was a refreshing salad that paired well with the grilled salmon we were having. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe was so easy and SO good! I made it twice in the last 2 weeks and got so many great reviews. It is so refreshing and tasty. You can eat it so many ways; plain, on a salad, with crackers, on rice or in a burrito. Will definitely be a frequent in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Yummy! Very healthy and fresh tasting. A lovely addition to any BBQ or picnic during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Very tasty - my only complaint would be to use a pre-made salad dressing, so I used the Spiced Balsamic Vinagrette recipe on this site which is also excellent. Perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Simple and so flavourful! I think that next time I might up the spices a bit, especially the cayenne, to give it more kick. I halved the recipe and mostly stuck to it, but used regular black pepper, only green onions, and fresh cilantro. Made it for a barbecue potluck -- I let it sit in the fridge overnight and the flavours were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I added the juice of a whole lime and a handful of chopped cilantro, and cut back the vinaigrette to a third cup. The vinaigrette was a little overpowering for me, so the lime toned it down a little. One can each, garbonzo,white corn,yellow corn and black beans. definately a keeper, a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I've made this before- however, I'm much more a fan of this recipe with a vinaigrette made from lime or lemon juice with oil instead of the basalmic. I also use red onions chopped finely instead of scallions. The soft crunch of the onion is more satisfying, and I like the brightness of the lime with the cilantro and cumin. Just make not sure to overkill on the lime- which is easy to do. I also add a smidge more cayenne- I love the heat! I use this on tacos, with chips, on eggs- you name it! Its just a great way to get in extra protein and some veggies. Fresh Corn is so much better! But I regularly used frozen when its out of season. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States