Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I love this dish! It's easy to make, inexpensive, and everyone always loves it. The only variation I've made is I use 1 can of black beans and I add fresh cilantro. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very delicious! Unfortunately I didn't have any cilantro so I skipped that ingredient, but I will definately make sure I add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Great recipe. I stuck to the recipe the first time. Fantastic! Just the right seasonings. The 2nd time, I only added fresh cilantro vs. dried - EVEN BETTER! I'll keep making this. I use this for a meal & for dinners when I have night class. Very filling, and so delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Love this salad!! Use fresh cilantro though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Like another poster, I added in tomatoes and avocados and I used a lot of cilantro. This is a great base recipe that you can mix up and change depending on the tastes of your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this for the first time tonight and really really liked it but I did tweak it a little bit. I took the advice from the other recipes and used fresh lemon juice and olive oil instead of the vinaigrette, and also the Montréal seasoning. I also used fresh corn right off the cob since I'm making this in the summer. Next time I'lll use fresh cilantro because the dried cilantro you couldn't really taste. I only marinated for about an hour and it tasted great. I think next time I will combine this recipe and the black bean and corn salad II
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I served this to a bunch of high schoolers (and a few chaperones) and it was a big hit! I got several compliments. However, I added a LOT more seasoning than what the recipe called for- specifically more pepper, cayenne, balsamic, and a whole lot more of the cumin. I kept adding until I thought it tasted right. I tried roasting the corn ahead of time like someone else suggested, but I won't do that again. I personally like the fresh taste better, and it certainly didn't add enough to the dish to be worth the trouble of this extra pre-step. I left out the chopped onion, only because I was serving it to a group that might not have wanted raw onion breath at their special event. I will definitely do this recipe again, with the added flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! Make it all the time as quick dinner addition to meat, rice, lettuce wraps. Always a hit! Add 1 or 2 chipotle peppers for additional smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This salad is amazing! I double the spices & use homemade balsamic vinaigrette. I use corn cut from the cob instead of canned & 'PC blue menu' black beans to cut out the sodium. I add fresh cilantro & extra red pepper too. Even my husband loves it & he isn't a huge fan of black beans. It definitely needs to sit overnight, but it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made this the other night for a pre-July 4th gathering and it was a hit. Since it was so hot out, I wanted something cold and also something without mayo, meat or anything else that could easily spoil. I used Newman's balsamic vinaigrette dressing, organic canned black beans and organic canned kernel corn, a red bell pepper, and green onions; I omitted the regular onion. I goofed when making this and didn't mix the dressing ingredients separately as the recipe called for, but just tossed everything into a bowl at once and mixed it...and it was still great. As one reviewer suggested, I added a bit more cayenne pepper, as most of my friends like a little more heat, and it was just right. My plan this weekend is to do what another reviewer suggested and use this as a filling for tacos. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States