Bittersweet Chocolate and Stout Beer Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Followed the original recipe and it was very good. Added some heath bar crunch bits for a little extra bite. Always a hit when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejdev

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
great simple ice cream recipe. Very smooth, but a bit too rich. maybe less chocolate or more cream, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
It was simple to make, but the texture once you added the beer (I used Guinness) became grainy. Still tasted good, but just didn't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I've made it twice now, and the texture just doesn't seem to be working out for me. I will likely continue to tweak the recipe (ie the second time I added more cream and cut the beer in half) as time goes on because I liked the taste, but the texture just wasn't... smooth or creamy as I would like my ice cream to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was time consuming and expensive having tried 2 times and getting brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The whole family likes this but we all agree that it's super rich---one scoop is all you want. I don't understand why the little "grains" of chocolate...... We all wish it was smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Ah yes, a perfect dessert.....chocolate, ice cream and Guinness! Great recipe! I used half semisweet and half bittersweet chocolates. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ProgrammingChef
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The flavor of this ice cream is amazing. I doubled the recipe because I'm bringing it to a St. Patrick's Day party and wanted plenty to go around. I used one bag bittersweet chocolate chips and one bag semi-sweet to try and balance the two. It is fairly sweet (which I love) but if you don't have a real strong sweet tooth it probably wouldn't hurt to cut back on the sugar a little. The ice cream by itself is very tasty but it also feels like a blank canvas to add any of your other favorite ice cream toppers like nuts or whipped cream (toffee bits sounds like a great idea!) and I really wish I could make waffle cones because for some reason I imagine this ice cream going perfectly in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I thought this was great, but hubby...not so much, which surprises me due to the fact that he LOVES Guinness AND ice cream. He said it was TOO rich, and I agree, but that's why I liked it so much. I also used semi-sweet chips (Thanks, LTH), and am glad that I did. I think I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was really great! I was skeptical about adding beer to ice cream, but it was delicious. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, and used semi-sweet chocolate (b/c that is what I had in the cupboard) and this was a HUGE success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States