Bittersweet Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is my husband's all-time favorite cake! He especially likes it frozen or at least cold, but I think it's equally amazing fresh out of the oven. The flavor of this cake is perfect! (I never make it with the glaze though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
it came out moist enough for us; it's a basic, simple chocolate cake; I agree with one of the other reviewers, some choc morsels in the batter coul be a good idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
We really love this recipe. I make a couple changes- Instead of using an unsweetened chocolate bar, I use the cocoa powder/shortening substitution that appears on the cocoa box. I also skipped the coffee altogether. It's a very dense, moist cake that gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Just okay. I only had to bake for 30 minutes and it was done and I also thought it was dry. You definetly need a glass of milk for this one. Liked the glaze on top but would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Excellent! Made one last night and we got up in the middle of the night to have more. Made another today to take to a party and everyone asked for the recipe. The only things I did differently were to use Nescafe Classic Decaf and a little less vanilla in the glaze (1/2 tsp). Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
this cake is a five star rating my kids enjoyed it by the time to go to sleep more than half was gone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was a fine cake, but not wonderful. It was a little dry (I baked it for the minimum time) though after a night wrapped in plastic in the fridge seemed to give it a little better texture. I think we like cakes with a bit stronger flavor. I'd thought with a half pound of chocolate and a cup and a half of coffee that it wouldn't be so bland. The glaze helped and maybe a handful of chocolate chips stirred into the batter would be nice, but just the same, I think I'll stick with the very dense "chocolate lovers favorite cake" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This was the first bundt cake I ever made, and it turned out fabulous! Everyone enjoyed it, and it was fun to make. I did *not* find it to be dry like one reviewer suggested. (Not any dryer than other pound cakes... I always need a glass of milk nearby w/ a pound cake!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this without the coffee for a party and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Trumbull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
A tasty yet not-so-sweet pound cake. This cake is especially made for those who do not like things too sweet. Taste better after refrigerated. I made this cake for my hubby on his birthday and he loves it. Worth to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States