Bittersweet Chocolate Mousse Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
A beautiful dessert that people will think you slaved over (but you didn't). Rich and chocolate-y enough to satisfy even the most demanding chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
This is a great recipe, except that the predominant taste is of bitter, not sweet, chocolate. Everyone enjoyed eating it, but they all mentioned that it might be better next time with a little more sugar:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was so good. We practically ate the whole pan in one setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This recipe is amazing! My discriminating husband absolutely loved it. I did add about 1/4 cup of sugar to the chocolate and coffee portion of the mousse recipe, just to sweeten it up a bit, although it probably would not have been necessary. Impressive and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
The brownies are exactly right for me as I am partial to very dark chocolate. The only problem I had was with the cooking time. Mine took a lot longer than the stated time-- 28 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I don't know what I did to this recipe but the chocolate seized up on me, the mousse was flat as a pancake, and I couldn't even finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
super rich and sinfully good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a wonderful base recipe! I love how it uses the coffee to give the chocolate a fuller rich flavor. (I often do that is my chocolate dishes even if the recipe does not call for it! ) For those of you that prefer a sweeter mousse try using the chocolate cream pudding recipe from this site and whip it together with homemade whipped cream (add a little cooled coffee to the cream when you whip it for a richer flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States