Bissara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Super easy and pretty good! I feel like it needed something, I'm just not sure what. Overall, though: awesome. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
thick and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Love love LOVE this! I add a lot more garlic, chopped, and about 1.5 tablespoons of cumin. I've also made it using fresh jalapenos and it comes out great. If you make it thick instead of soup-like, it goes great with a big dollop of yogurt on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is great for what it is -- a basic spiced stew. I had a hard time getting my peas to cook completely (maybe old?), so I ended up with more of a lentil soup consistency than a paste-like stew which is what I had wanted. However, the flavors were great, this recipe is delicious, healthy and cheap, and I will try again with better peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Double the spices and its wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I really wanted to like this, but thought it was average at best. Love everything in it, but I didn't think it went well. Maybe lentils would be better? I love split pea soup with lots of thyme, it's light and perfect for spring. This was very heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I did this recipe using only olive oil and adding a ham-hock. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was a great base, but actually a bit bland for my taste. I ended up adding more spices, carrots, and spinach. Next time I will definitely saute some onion with more garlic, black mustard seed, and a tomato, add garam masala, and more than double the spices. Unlike other reviewers, I don't think this recipes NEEDS chicken stock or meat in it (though it would be great with meat, too) to make it taste "finished", as long as the spices are right and it is given ample time to stew and mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is an Egyptian national dish. I'm from Egypt and this was a staple in my grandma's house where I spent most of my childhood. I have to say it's a bit of an acquired taste to like it. To clear any confusion, this is NOT supposed to be a soup. It's a dip. We NEVER use peas, but always use fava beans. If you can't get hold of that, then edamame beans could work. It's best made with fava beans though and you scoop it up with flat bread. Chile pepper and paprika are not common spices in this. The traditional way of serving this is to serve it room temperature/cold with some fried onions on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Easy to make and with only a few affordable ingredients. I enjoyed it as a very creamy soup and also as a sauce on basmati rice. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manito, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States