Bissara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I found this recipe 2 weeks ago and have made it 5 times since then, it's so incredibly good and so incredibly fast and easy. I sincerely doubt I'll ever again make "traditional" split pea soup. This can be eaten as soup or, if you allow it to really thicken up, it makes a fantastic dip with crunchy tortilla strips, corn chips, toasted pita triangles, cucumber slices, or sweet red bell pepper strips. I've also used it as a filling for pita along with chopped cucumbers and a drizzle of yogurt mixed with chopped mint. Scrumptious! Note: Because I didn't have any dried whole chilies, I substituted 1 T. of commercial chili powder. I've also used 1 T. of dried parsley in place of fresh, and that works okay, too, although fresh is best. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Next time, I will halve the preparation--I have so much leftovers! This is a great tasting, healthy, unique tasting, FILLING treat. Would also be good on toasted bread, and I've also been putting it on baked potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I enjoy pea soup, so this was naturally something I had to try. It's got a nice spicy kick to it, and soooo healthy. I didn't use any oil at all, and I added a bouillon cube. The ratio of water to peas was perfect, and I simmered it for 1 hour. Perfect consistency and it thickens when it cools down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Delicious. The BEST split pea soup I've ever had. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
My boyfriend and I both loved this. I used red chili pepper flakes and added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt,tumeric, and a chili powder. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I can only recommend this recipe. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catrin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup is wonderful and couldn't be easier to make! The flavor is very rich and the texture is perfect (I used a hand blender, right in the pot to puree). I used red pepper flakes instead of the dried red chili pepper. It did take a little longer to cook... and definitely needed more water during the cooking process. I ended up using low sodium chicken stock and kept adding it, as needed. I will definitely make this again. Thanks, Asma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great vegetarian soup that I intend to make again soon. Cheap and easy, with a subtle flavor blend. I served it last night with baked potatoes that had been rubbed in olive oil and sea salt, which made for a healthy, simple, tasty meal. I did make a few changes to the recipe entirely through my own errors - I was cooking too much at the time, and was distracted when I made the Bissara. But it turned out OK, and I liked the finished result so much that I am now determined to concentrate some evening soon and make this just as the recipe states. I subbed a half a cup of lentils for half a cup of the split peas, one T of chili powder for the dried chili, added half an onion, needed longer than one hour of cooking time, and omitted the vegetable oil. I used a hand blender, rather than a wooden spoon, to mash the peas - but I also used a spoon to mash additional peas in individual bowls, and it was much tastier this way. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe - I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Wow! I really loved this. I did omit the oil though. It did get a little thick the next day so I dipped, more like scooped the soup up on garlic bread. That was really good. I added halved baby carrots for a little color and texture. They were great in there! My kids (2 and 1) loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We enjoyed this a lot! I doubled the spices and added a sprinkle of turmeric and chili powder. I sauteed a small onion with the garlic and omitted the olive oil. Oh and I used vegetarian "chicken" flavored bouillon. Next time I might add some carrots but other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States