Bissara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
For such a simple recipe, this rocked! I think next time, though, I'll add fresh cilantro in the last few minutes of cooking. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great vegetarian soup that I intend to make again soon. Cheap and easy, with a subtle flavor blend. I served it last night with baked potatoes that had been rubbed in olive oil and sea salt, which made for a healthy, simple, tasty meal. I did make a few changes to the recipe entirely through my own errors - I was cooking too much at the time, and was distracted when I made the Bissara. But it turned out OK, and I liked the finished result so much that I am now determined to concentrate some evening soon and make this just as the recipe states. I subbed a half a cup of lentils for half a cup of the split peas, one T of chili powder for the dried chili, added half an onion, needed longer than one hour of cooking time, and omitted the vegetable oil. I used a hand blender, rather than a wooden spoon, to mash the peas - but I also used a spoon to mash additional peas in individual bowls, and it was much tastier this way. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe - I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Tastes like split pea soup with an extra kick! I sauted chopped onions, garlic, and the spices prior to adding the water and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup is wonderful and couldn't be easier to make! The flavor is very rich and the texture is perfect (I used a hand blender, right in the pot to puree). I used red pepper flakes instead of the dried red chili pepper. It did take a little longer to cook... and definitely needed more water during the cooking process. I ended up using low sodium chicken stock and kept adding it, as needed. I will definitely make this again. Thanks, Asma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
as written, this would be too bland for my taste and I cannot see the sense in adding that much oil. With changes, this soup is delicious and so quick and easy. quickly sauteed 5 large cloves of garlic in a bit of EVOO, upped the cumin to 2 heaping measuring tsp., omitted the whole chili and added Tunisian ground chili powder, and used chicken broth instead of water. Used 3 cans chicken broth and 16 oz pkg of peas. It was thick but not overly so. I had an extra can of chicken broth that I added the next day, as it was thicker then. thanks for the easy recipe that is nice to use for a Ramadan dinner shorba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I was so disappointed! Bland bland bland. The cumin does give a little smokey flavor, but not enough....I wished there were some meat in it to give a deeper flavor. I added a tiny bit of liquid smoke, and some lemon juice to kind of brighten it. I think it needs more vegetables- like onion, carrot and celery, cooked with the garlic. Also, leaving the dried red chili whole added no heat whatsoever. Lastly, I wished I had used vegetable or chicken broth instead of plain water. I had such high hopes for this recipe, but none of us liked it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I omitted the olive oil (why is it in there?), but kept the vegetable oil to fry up the garlic. I also added a 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes in addition to the 6 cups of water. That was good, but it was still pretty thick at the end. Next time I think I might try a 28 oz can of chopped tomatoes. I also served this with cooked whole buckwheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Delicious. The BEST split pea soup I've ever had. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I enjoy pea soup, so this was naturally something I had to try. It's got a nice spicy kick to it, and soooo healthy. I didn't use any oil at all, and I added a bouillon cube. The ratio of water to peas was perfect, and I simmered it for 1 hour. Perfect consistency and it thickens when it cools down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Next time, I will halve the preparation--I have so much leftovers! This is a great tasting, healthy, unique tasting, FILLING treat. Would also be good on toasted bread, and I've also been putting it on baked potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States