Bissara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was surprisingly easy to make and tasted authentic. I only wish mine was spicier...it will probably taste better the next day after it has thickened and the flavors have settled. I added some ingredients: coriander seeds, fennel seeds, lemon juice, minced ginger, chopped red onion, turmeric, red pepper flakes. I also used yellow lentils and dried parsley and dried chili powder instead of what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very good comfort food. The use of an immersion blender makes this recipe a BREEZE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was great! I love split peas and this was a great way to cook them. I added some curry powder to suite my taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We enjoyed this a lot! I doubled the spices and added a sprinkle of turmeric and chili powder. I sauteed a small onion with the garlic and omitted the olive oil. Oh and I used vegetarian "chicken" flavored bouillon. Next time I might add some carrots but other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is so good, and very versitile,as alot of other reveiwers mentioned if you let this thicken to a pasted it's a great spread, really tastes good on toasted pitas with some feta. But as a soup it's equally amazing. The only reason i'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because instead of water chicken broth is really essentail, it emboldens the flavors, and gives it a finished taste. Other than that this soup is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Wow! I really loved this. I did omit the oil though. It did get a little thick the next day so I dipped, more like scooped the soup up on garlic bread. That was really good. I added halved baby carrots for a little color and texture. They were great in there! My kids (2 and 1) loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Love the toasty garlic flavor in this soup. Very easy to make, too. I would suggest: more salt; if you can't find the dried pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
For such a simple recipe, this rocked! I think next time, though, I'll add fresh cilantro in the last few minutes of cooking. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great vegetarian soup that I intend to make again soon. Cheap and easy, with a subtle flavor blend. I served it last night with baked potatoes that had been rubbed in olive oil and sea salt, which made for a healthy, simple, tasty meal. I did make a few changes to the recipe entirely through my own errors - I was cooking too much at the time, and was distracted when I made the Bissara. But it turned out OK, and I liked the finished result so much that I am now determined to concentrate some evening soon and make this just as the recipe states. I subbed a half a cup of lentils for half a cup of the split peas, one T of chili powder for the dried chili, added half an onion, needed longer than one hour of cooking time, and omitted the vegetable oil. I used a hand blender, rather than a wooden spoon, to mash the peas - but I also used a spoon to mash additional peas in individual bowls, and it was much tastier this way. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe - I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Tastes like split pea soup with an extra kick! I sauted chopped onions, garlic, and the spices prior to adding the water and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States