Bishop's Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Haven t had a recipe for this bread in years and had forgotten just how good it is. Because we do not like cherries subsitute some apricots and raising or you can use dried cranberries. Sliced thin and served with cream cheese is a teatime treat liked by most people. Unfortunately some people think it is a cake but really isn t ....has a bread texture just in case you are expecting a fruit cake!!!! The recipe I had added 1 tbsp. of cherry liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good. I made mini loaves and baked for about 40-50 minutes, and they were perfect. Very nice little bread. I didn't have walnuts, so I just left them out. Maybe next time I'd cut up the cherries; a little big in the bread. Bf liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Wow! This is a winner. Perfect for any holiday season. Instead of candied cherries I used dried cherries, and it was great! Also perfect for a church bake sale...(Bishop's Bread..ha, ha)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MARIOLA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
This is the one recipe that made allrecipies.com my favorite place on the net. Bishop´s Bread is so easy to make, so quick, and delicious you´ll be making it again and again. It´s an easy recipie that can be made by young children and devoured by all the family. It also makes a real fast home made present that will make you famous among your friends. I highly recomend it. Go make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
One of my all-time favorite holiday breads! I use cherry craisins instead of the currants. I've had to give this recipe to every person who has tasted it...it's delicious. Sooooo NOT a pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I thought this was a great bread. Would be good for Christmas time. I made a slight change because I didn't want to use Choc. Chips, I used cut up dates and instead of the candied cherries I used the marachino cherries, just because that's what I had on hand. It was still very good. Next time I'll prepare ahead and make as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I learned to make this bread in highschool. Our recipe was wonderful and called for Maraschino cherries, broken up Hershey bars and dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I loved the bread. I'm even bookmarking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I couldn't find currants at my grocery store, so I substituted plain raisins. Overall it was good, but the fruit and chocolate combination was a little odd. It also dries out VERY quickly, so wrap it securely when storing. I'm going to try it again, this time with just the cherries and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Basically a pound cake. Easy to make. I did not like it but my guests did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States