Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very good and tasty. I used peas, carrots and potatoes for the veggies. I made it in a casserole dish verses a pie dish. You will need more biscuits to top which I had. Also I used skim milk. You would be better off using 2% for a thicker consistancy. Overall it was great though. Super easy and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Good Recipe. The cream of potato soup really worked out well. We have some lactose intolerant people in my household, so I used 1 cup of skimmed pan drippings from a roasted chicken I made earlier in the week in place of the milk. It didn't turn out as creamy as the picture looks, but the taste was amazing. Leftovers were gone very quickly! Just to make things easier, I prepared all the ingredients needed for the filling in a pan on the stove top until thoroughly heated - about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then, I added the filling to the casserole dish, added the biscuits, and only cooked for 15 minutes in the oven until the biscuits were done. It cut down on the oven time which is a benefit in warmer climates and got it to the kitchen table a little faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYMCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loved it! I am in college and it was perfect for me, so quick and easy yet delicious and healthy. I used canned green beans, potatoes, and corn for veggies and also halved the recipe. I definitely recommend it, it would also be easy to play with and add things to make it more unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was delicious and easy. It could use more salt though, and I'm one who rarely salts food when eating. So quick to make, too. Be sure to line bottom of oven with tin foil b/c this dish overspills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Knowing that we wanted leftovers, I added to this recipe and cooked it in a 9x13 dish. I boiled just over a pound of chicken breasts, and while that was cooking, I mixed the following: 1 can cream potato, 1 can cream broccoli, 1 can sliced potato (drained), 16 oz frozen veggies, 1 cup milk, 3/4 tsp thyme, 1/2 cup cheddar, 1 cup sour cream, a good dash of onion powder, garlic powder, smoked paprika and a generous amount of fresh ground black pepper. Once the chicken was done I chopped it and added to the rest of the ingredients. Cooked until bubbling and topped with biscuits as stated. I'd write and post this as its own recipe, but the ones I have posted have never been published, so there it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
i altered the recipe, but a delicious combination of flavors, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is my first time reviewing a recipe. This was easy and a great comfort food. I read the reviews about the biscuits being doughy. I raised the oven rack higher than usual. I also buttered the tops of the buns and they browned nicely. I also did not have cream of potato soup, substituted one can cream of celery and one can cream of chicken.Will make this again. Husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious! I have to admit to changes. No potato soup on hand, so I used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of chicken with herbs. For veggies, I used 2 cups of frozen homestyle hash brown potatoes (microwaved for a couple minutes to thaw and cook a bit, and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies (thawed). I used jumbo biscuits and had no problem with them cooking through, but it definitely changes the biscuit to filling ratio. Used a 9x13 pan. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good easy quick recipe. I will use a smaller can of biscuits next time and cut them in half. I used rising big biscuits and the bottoms were not cooked and kind of slimy. I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp onion powder, doubled the black pepper. I also used low sodium cream of broccoli and low sodium cream of mushroom and it turned out great. Veggies: Fresh broccoli, carrots and frozen peas and corn. Boyfriend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillary
Home Town: Ben Lomond, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I also substituted cream of chicken for cream of potato. Good & fast, filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States