Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was delicious and easy. It could use more salt though, and I'm one who rarely salts food when eating. So quick to make, too. Be sure to line bottom of oven with tin foil b/c this dish overspills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Sort of more like chicken and dumplings, but good and fast on a cold night where you don't want to really spend a lot of time cooking and just want some quick, hot comfort food. Made a few changes due to what I had on hand, used cream of mushroom soup, omitted the thyme, but added lots of onion/garlic powder, black pepper and some seasoning salt. Used a frozen bag of mixed veggies. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackatty6
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made a half recipe since I was only cooking for myself, and I baked it in a 6-inch pie plate. The half recipe didn't quite fit so I had to throw some of the mix away, but that's ok. Cooking the chicken beforehand made this recipe take a long time to prepare and I think the cooking time could be modified so that the chicken can cook in the oven with everything else instead. Also cooking the chicken beforehand made it end up pretty dry. Also the biscuits on top turned out really dry too, but that might be because I used the really cheap store-brand biscuits (they came in a smaller 7 oz pack while all the rest were 10-16 oz). I used some Vermont country seasoning in the mix and I'm not sure exactly what spices are in it but that made it taste really good despite the dry chicken. This is a good basic recipe but next time I'll make some modifications to the preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loved it! I am in college and it was perfect for me, so quick and easy yet delicious and healthy. I used canned green beans, potatoes, and corn for veggies and also halved the recipe. I definitely recommend it, it would also be easy to play with and add things to make it more unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I had a request for "pot pie like the frozen kind", so this was my result. I used cream of celery soup rather than potato, and I'm certain that improved it (for us). The thyme was not really noticeable; I'd probably increase that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Good Recipe. The cream of potato soup really worked out well. We have some lactose intolerant people in my household, so I used 1 cup of skimmed pan drippings from a roasted chicken I made earlier in the week in place of the milk. It didn't turn out as creamy as the picture looks, but the taste was amazing. Leftovers were gone very quickly! Just to make things easier, I prepared all the ingredients needed for the filling in a pan on the stove top until thoroughly heated - about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then, I added the filling to the casserole dish, added the biscuits, and only cooked for 15 minutes in the oven until the biscuits were done. It cut down on the oven time which is a benefit in warmer climates and got it to the kitchen table a little faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYMCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very good and tasty. I used peas, carrots and potatoes for the veggies. I made it in a casserole dish verses a pie dish. You will need more biscuits to top which I had. Also I used skim milk. You would be better off using 2% for a thicker consistancy. Overall it was great though. Super easy and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States