Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious! I have to admit to changes. No potato soup on hand, so I used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of chicken with herbs. For veggies, I used 2 cups of frozen homestyle hash brown potatoes (microwaved for a couple minutes to thaw and cook a bit, and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies (thawed). I used jumbo biscuits and had no problem with them cooking through, but it definitely changes the biscuit to filling ratio. Used a 9x13 pan. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I also substituted cream of chicken for cream of potato. Good & fast, filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good easy quick recipe. I will use a smaller can of biscuits next time and cut them in half. I used rising big biscuits and the bottoms were not cooked and kind of slimy. I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp onion powder, doubled the black pepper. I also used low sodium cream of broccoli and low sodium cream of mushroom and it turned out great. Veggies: Fresh broccoli, carrots and frozen peas and corn. Boyfriend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillary
Home Town: Ben Lomond, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
it was ok, biscuits did not get done all the way through, top was all nice and brown but under neath was all dough, will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is my first time reviewing a recipe. This was easy and a great comfort food. I read the reviews about the biscuits being doughy. I raised the oven rack higher than usual. I also buttered the tops of the buns and they browned nicely. I also did not have cream of potato soup, substituted one can cream of celery and one can cream of chicken.Will make this again. Husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
i altered the recipe, but a delicious combination of flavors, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not bad for another pretty quick and easy recipe. We used potatoes and onions for the veggies. I didn't have cream of potato so I used cream of celery instead which turned out pretty good. The only thing I'd really change about it is the spice ratio. It definately needs some jazzing up. Otherwise, most of my family enjoyed this and it was highly satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The flavor is really good, but my biscuits did not cook all the way. I cooked the biscuits for twice the time needed, still doughy. A better idea would be to just make the biscuits and pour this on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a really nice recipe; creamy and delicious! I love the addition of potatoes that the soup provides. I used a few extra biscuits to fill in the gaps of my casserole, and unfortunately they soaked up a lot of the gravy. Next time I will try it in a traditional pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I've been making a similar version of this for years. Instead of cream of potato, I use one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of celery, 2 cans of mixed vegatables, half cup of milk and a half cup of chicken broth/stock. Cut up or shredded chicken and salt and pepper to taste. Mix together and pour into an 11x13 deep pan. I use biscuit mix to top it. Bake for 20-30 minutes until the biscuits are done and the filling is hot. My husband would eat this everyday if I made it! My kids love it too! Very simple but filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States