Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I was searching for a biscotti recipe for a gift basket I was making and decided to give this one a try. Believe me, I made the right choice!! Not only was it easy, it was also fairly quick for biscotti, it tasted wonderful ( I made a few adjustments), and my family and the gift basket recipient thought that it tasted GREAT!! It is now a permanent fixture in my personal recipe file and I recommend it to all my friends! That is if they aren't having me making it for them! If you're wondering what changes I made, they were 1) replacing the anise with almond extract, 2) adding about 3/4 cup of medium-fine chopped walnuts and 3) brushing the finished biscotti with a layer of melted white chocolate OR vanilla flavored candy-making pieces. Whether you leave it exactly the way the recipe reads or make a few changes, this recipe is the TOPS!!! Thanx, Jandee, for sharing it!! Marguerite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Great taste and texture. This Biscotti doesn't turn out too hard to bite into like some Biscotti. I did have to add a little flour to keep from sticking to my hands as I formed the dough, but no big deal. If you have never made Biscotti before, try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This is the first time I've tried to make Biscotti. It was fast, easy and very tasty. I made one batch with the anise extract and one with almond extract and 1/2 cup of slivered almonds. Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
A great basic recipe. Versatile and easy to modify (I made several variations). Not too sweet, so they are good with everything and perfect for chocolate-dipping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I didn't have any anise, so i substituted vanilla, and these still tasted great. I made a batch for myself and my housemates and they were gone before the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Easy recipe, everyone enjoyed with coffee. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Very very good! My first biscotti attempt and it is better than any I have ever tasted. I can't keep my hands off them. I used vanilla extract and greased my hands before shaping the dough. Worked very well. Try the recipe! you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
These were the best biscotti I ever tasted. They were so simple to make and smelled so good in the oven. Better double up, these disappear real quick. HB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Yummy & super simple! I didn't have any anise so I used 1/2 T vanilla and 1/2 T almond - still tasted good. I would recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This was my first time making biscotti and it turned out great. It was better than some I had tried from the store. I used vanilla extract instead of the anise. It only lasted 3 days & it was all gone. I dipped half of it in a melted down chocolate candy bar. I can't beleive how easy this was. I also used bread flour because that's all I had on hand. I'll make this again real soon. This was very inexpensive too compared to commercial products. Thanks Jandee for sharing this with everyone. I'm going to experiment with this and try some different flavors. I'll keep you posted...Phil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States